Big 12 Conference Award Winning “Champions for Life” Campaign Begins Fourth Season

September 27, 2018

IRVING, Texas--(BUSINESS WIRE)--Sep 27, 2018--In celebration of the first full Saturday of conference football action, The Big 12 Conference rolls out the latest installment of its “Big 12 Champions for Life” campaign.

In its fourth year, the awarding winning program highlights the life-changing opportunities an athletic scholarship provides. This year’s campaign begins September 29, and features student-athletes from every Big 12 Conference member institution. Thirty-second spots will run throughout the year during Conference-controlled telecasts on ESPN and FOX, as well as in-stadium during campus-hosted contests, and on Big 12 digital and social media platforms. In addition, each feature and other academic information will be showcased on Big12ChampionsForLife.com.

“Through our Champions for Life campaign we have been able to put sunshine on the incredible stories behind some of our student-athletes,” said Big 12 Commissioner Bob Bowlsby. “These role models not only take advantage of the opportunity to play a sport they love, but set examples off the field as well. They exemplify everything that is right about college athletics.”

Through the campaign’s first three years, over 250 student-athletes across all sports have been featured.

Featured student-athletes in the campaign include:

Lauren Cox (women’s basketball), Baylor University David Montgomery (football), Iowa State University Nina Khmelnitckaia (women’s tennis), Kansas University Dalton Risner (football), Kansas State University Rodney Anderson (football), Oklahoma University Lindy Waters III (men’s basketball), Oklahoma State University Nate Guyton (football), Texas Christian University Jarmarquis Durst (football), University of Texas Josh Jung (baseball), Texas Tech University Max Sear (men’s golf), West Virginia University

For more information:

Visit Big12ChampionsforLife.com and follow the campaign on Twitter and Facebook.

About the Big 12 Conference

The Big 12 Conference is comprised of 10 Universities - Baylor, Iowa State, Kansas, Kansas State, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State, TCU, Texas, Texas Tech and West Virginia. The Big 12 is an NCAA Division I intercollegiate athletics conference that encompasses five states with over 38 million people within its geographic footprint. In its 23rd year, the Conference has produced over 600 Academic All-America selections and claimed national championship team titles in 17 of its 23 sponsored sports. Its student-athletes and teams have combined for 650 individual NCAA titles and 59 team national championships. Nearly 5,000 student-athletes from across the United States and around the World compete annually under the Big 12 banner. For more information, visit Big12Sports.com and follow the Conference on Facebook and Twitter.

View source version on businesswire.com:https://www.businesswire.com/news/home/20180927005644/en/

CONTACT: Big 12 Conference

Bob Burda




SOURCE: Big 12 Conference

Copyright Business Wire 2018.

PUB: 09/27/2018 02:00 PM/DISC: 09/27/2018 02:01 PM


Update hourly