Related topics

25 Teachers Picked for Weather Program

July 28, 1985

WASHINGTON (AP) _ Twenty-five science teachers from across the country have been chosen to participate in a special, honors weather education program, the National Weather Service announced Sunday.

The teachers will take part in an intensive course of weather study from Monday through Aug. 9 at the National Weather Service Training Facility in Kansas City, Mo.

The program is paid for by the National Science Foundation.

The teachers will follow up the sessions by conducting workshops on weather for other teachers in their home districts.

Weather is something that can come to life, that can be used every day, and it is therefore a good vehicle to stimulate the interest of youngsters in science, commented Richard Hallgren, director of the weather service.

Teaching the courses will be weather service experts in hurricanes, tornadoes, forecasting and other aspects of meteorology, as well as professors from the State University of New York at Brockport.

Some of the high school teachers who took part in the first such honors weather program last year will also return to help explain the most effective uses for the information obtained in the program.

The teachers chosen for this year’s program are:

Lyle M. Alderson, Blue Springs, Mo.; Gary W. Brown, Waterloo, Neb.; Michael Burton, Fargo, N.D.; Suzanne M. Daly, Chambersburg, Pa.; Charles A. Gaides, Deering, N.H.; George R. Glading, Dover, Del.; Carol A. Harrison, Tuskegee, Ala.; Lowell K. Isaacs, Milltown, Ind.;

Terry L. Jepson, Wisconsin Rapids, Wis.; Christopher V. Mastropiori, Granville, Mass.; Christopher Ratley, Swampscott, Mass.; Marsha A. Rich, Raymond, N.H.; Steven J. Richards, New York City; Lucy H. Robbins, South Boston, Va.; Allen Rogers, Granger, Ind.;

Jeffrey A. Samson, Yarmouth, Maine; Rene C. Smith, Bay St. Louis, Miss.; Ann M. Story, North Augusta, S.C.; Sharon M. Stroud, Colorado Springs, Colo.; Bradley W. Timerson, Newark, N.Y.;

Marilyn W. Miles, Kansas City, Mo.; Diane J. Newton-Grayson, Dallas; John W. Parsons, Pine Bluffs, Wyo.; Wilma W. Wright, S. Pittsburg, Tenn., and Gilbert C. Yee, Fremont, Calif.

Update hourly