Deer Park cross country runners await district challenge Thursday morning

October 11, 2018

The high school cross country scene moves to front and center Thursday morning in districts and far and near and that includes District 21-6A.

That’s because it’s time for the all-important district meets, the 5K races that will determine which three teams and 10 individuals advance to the Region III meet in Huntsville Oct. 22.

La Porte’s Northwest Park will host Thursday morning’s races. The first race should be leaving the starting line between 8 a.m. and 8:30.

Positions not times will be the critical issue. There’s a fair amount of turns on the Northwest Park course which will decrease the times.

For this round, the 10 individuals that escape will be coming from the qualifying teams or not. In other words, all 10 could be coming from the three qualifying teams. If a strong runner from a weak team wants to keep his or her season alive, they have to crack the top-10.

At the Region III meet, it will be the three qualifying teams and the 10 fastest runners not coming from one of the three teams.

Thanks to realignment last winter, the shake-up of the districts adds plenty of intrigue to Thursday’s action.

Deer Park High School boys coach John Davis believes the Deer stand a better than 50-50 chance of escaping district as a team just as they did last year.

La Porte, with two-time state qualifier and former Fairmont Junior High student Ryan Schoppe leading the way, should be in the mix for a Region III berth.

As for the third ticket, North Shore will likely be in a fight with Beaumont West Brook.

Individually for Deer Park, Davis will try to round up a regional-qualifying team from the group of Robert Olvera, Ethan Cortez, Zach Diaz, Max Gonzalez, Jonathan Martinez, Jacob Garcia, Jarrod Moreno, Mark Lopez, Ben Holweg and Isaac Vasquez

On the girls’ side, La Porte, traditionally a strong program, could be favorites to win district.

If the Lady Deer are to escape district, they’ll have to put together their best 3.1 miles of the entire season.

Phoebe Villarreal, Jayla Viator, Jessica Rodriguez, Roslyn Aquines, Alessandra Palma and Valentina De La Rosa should be the point-getters.


Update hourly