Related topics

Second Group Of Prospective Astronauts Named

March 6, 1987

SPACE CENTER, Houston (AP) _ A second group of astronaut prospects will be interviewed at the Johnson Space Center next week as part of a selection process expected to conclude this summer.

Twenty-two candidates will report for testing, interviews and indoctrination, Johnson Space Center officials announced Friday. The first group of 22 prospects went through the process last week.

About 100 applicants will be interviewed before the agency selects about a dozen for training, NASA said. Successful applicants will report this summer to the Johnson Space Center where they will undergo a year of training before becoming eligible for space flight crews.

Officials said the space corps now has 84 NASA astronauts and one European Space Agency astronaut. National Aeronautics and Space Administration officials said the agency will need about 100 astronauts to maintain an expected space shuttle flight rate of 12 to 15 missions a year.

The shuttle fleet has been grounded since the 1986 Challenger accident that killed seven crew members. Missions are to resume Feb. 18, 1988, after flawed rockets and other equipment are redesigned and tested.

The astronaut candidates being interviewed were selected from hundreds of applicants. NASA constantly accepts applications from civilians; military personnel are periodically nominated by their service.

NASA has selected 11 previous groups of astronauts, starting with the first group of seven named in 1959. The last selection was in 1984 when NASA added 17 to the astronaut corps.

The group announced Friday are:

Navy Lt. Kenneth D. Bowersox, Ridgecrest, Calif.; Air Force Maj. Kevin P. Chilton, Shalimar, Fla.; Air Force Capt. Gregory S. Coale, Edwards, Calif.; Navy Lt. Cdr. Kenneth D. Cockrell, Lemoore, Calif.; Army Capt. Rhonda L. S. Cornum, Olney, Md.; Cynthia A. Evans, Nyack, N.Y.; Air Force Capt. Christopher S. Finnerty, Centerville, Ohio; Deborah J. Jackson, Port Hueneme, Calif.; Army Capt. John C. Jarrell, Lorton, Va.; Marine Maj. John A. Jaurequi, Iwakuni, Japan; Navy Lt. Cdr. John F. Kinzer, Virginia Beach, Va.; Sally A. Look, Germantown, Md.; Air Force Maj. Donald R. McMonagle, Henderson, Nev.; Navy Cdr. William A. Meeley Jr., Burke, Va.; James H. Newman, Houston; Marine Maj. Troy D. Pennington, Edwards, Calif.; Air Force Maj. John D. Rickerson, Niceville, Fla.; Navy Lt. Cdr. Mario Runco Jr., Aiea, Hawaii; Anna M. Tavormina, League City, Texas; Army Maj. James S. Voss, Houston; Air Force Capt. Carl E. Walz, Edwards, Calif., and Navy Lt. Cdr. Scott E. McCarty, Virginia Beach, Va.

Update hourly