Two new members elected to Florence One Schools board of trustees

November 8, 2018

FLORENCE, S.C. – Two new members will join the Florence One Schools board.

In Tuesday’s election, Artie Buxton won Seat 5. That was a special election, because Glenn Odom resigned from the seat last year.

Buxton received 67.07 percent of the votes and defeated Steven Kim, who received 31.46 percent.

Davy Gregg received 70.76 percent of the votes and won Seat 9, defeating Kelvin Mitchell, who received 18.46 percent, and Brian Harvey, who received 10.06 percent. Incumbent John W. McLeod did not run for re-election.

Incumbent Trisha Caulder received 64.22 percent of the votes and won Seat 6 again, defeating challengers Lethonia Barnes, who received 26.16 percent of votes, and Frank Hyder, who received 10.93 percent of votes. Caulder has served on the board since January 2013 when she was appointed by legislators to replace a board member who was elected to the Florence County Council.

Incumbent E.J. McIver won Seat 3 with 39.79 percent of the votes. McIver defeated Robert LeMaster, who received 32.33 percent of the votes, Michael Gary, who received 11.69 percent, and Charles Foxe, who received 14.76 percent. This will be McIver’s third term on the school board.

Incumbent Bryan Chapman received 39.46 percent of the votes and won the Seat 8 race, defeating Hannah Parker, who received 31.03 percent of the votes, and Terry Law, who received 28.55 percent of the votes. Law lost the seat to Chapman in 2014.

The newly elected board members will take office in January.

Update hourly