Eagles land eighth in Pioneer Football League poll

August 29, 2018

The Herald-Dispatch

HUNTINGTON - Morehead State was picked for eighth place in the 10-team Pioneer Football League regular-season race in preseason voting by the coaches.

Morehead State senior wide receiver Jarin Higginbotham landed a spot on the Preseason All-PFL Team.

Higginbotham, from Liberty Township, Ohio, ranked among the top receivers in the PFL in 2017, hauling in a team-best 48 passes for 974 yards and 10 touchdowns. His 20.3 yards per catch led the entire league.

His total yards (974) and yards per game (88.5) both rank third on MSU’s single-season chart, and his touchdown production also ranked tied for third.

Higginbotham already ranks eighth in career yards (1,440) at MSU.

For the eighth consecutive year, the University of San Diego was predicted to finish first.

San Diego has won regular-season titles then advanced to the second round of the FCS playoffs in back-to-back seasons.

The Toreros were chosen just ahead of Dayton in polling that was dominated by the two teams.

San Diego and Dayton combined to receive all available first-place votes.

The Toreros received nine first-place votes to finish with 81 points of the maximum 100 points possible.

Dayton earned the other first-place vote and finished with 72 points.

Drake was picked to finish third with 58 points after receiving four second-place votes. Behind Drake, a group of four teams were tightly bunched in fourth through seventh place.

In-state rivals Butler and Valparaiso were picked to finish tied for fourth with 48 points each. Jacksonville was closely behind in sixth place with 47 points while Marist got the coaches’ seventh-place nod at 44 points.

The remainder of the 10-team poll was completed by Morehead State (22 points), Stetson (19) and Davidson (11).

The 2018 season marks the 26th year for the Pioneer Football League the nation’s only non-scholarship, football-only NCAA Football Championship Subdivision conference.

The league will feature an eight-game schedule to determine the league champion and recipient of the automatic bid to the FCS playoffs.

PFL preseason poll

(First-place votes)

1. San Diego (9) 81

2. Dayton (1) 72

3. Drake 58

4. Butler 48

5. Valparaiso 48

6. Jacksonville 47

7. Marist 44

8. Morehead State 22

9. Stetson 19

10. Davidson 11

Update hourly