Diocese names 18 ‘credibly accused’ of sexual abuse of a minor

September 18, 2018

Eighteen priests and deacons are on a list of clerics “credibly accused” of at least one act of sexual abuse of a minor released by the Diocese of Fort Wayne-South Bend today.

The list was promised by the Rev. Kevin C. Rhoades, the diocese’s bishop, during an Aug. 17 news conference in Fort Wayne.

It was developed with the assistance of the Diocesan Review Board, which is composed mainly of lay people who assess all allegations of sexual abuse of minors by priests and deacons presented to diocese officials, according to a statement accompanying the list. 

On the list are the following: James Blume, Michael Buescher, Brian Carsten, William Ehrman, William Gieranowski, John Gillig, Gabriel Hernandez, Edward Krason, Paul LeBrun, CSC, Thomas Lombardi, Robert Mahoney, Eldon Miller, Edward O. Paquette, Cornelius Ryan, CSC, James Seculoff, Richard Stieglitz, Richard Thompson and James Trepanier, CSC.

The list also includes assignment information and number of credible allegations and, in some cases, current status of the alleged offenders.

Rhoades, in the news release, reiterated the diocese’s commitment to protect children and young people.

“We must be vigilant in our efforts to protect our youth. With the Lord’s guidance and love, we will do so,” the statement said. 


Update hourly