Related topics

Villopoto wins 3rd straight AMA Supercross title

April 28, 2013

SALT LAKE CITY (AP) — Ryan Villopoto secured his third consecutive AMA Supercross championship Saturday night, securing the title by outdueling Ryan Dungey and Davi Millsaps to earn his series leading ninth win of the season in the 450SX class.

Dungey was out of the gate first in the 450SX race inside Rice-Eccles Stadium, but Villopoto quickly took the lead and then set a torrid pace to open a 2-plus second advantage.

Millsaps got alongside Dungey on Lap 2 and made the pass for second.

They eventually closed on Villopoto, but he withstood the pressure and the difficulty of getting through lapped traffic to lead all 20 laps and clinch the title.

In 250SX, Jason Anderson won his first main event before the 43,149 fans at the Western Regional Championship.

Update hourly