Mark Pietrowski Jr., John Frieders remain DeKalb County Board chairman, vice chairman

December 4, 2018

SYCAMORE – After a new DeKalb County Board was sworn in during its organizational meeting Monday, the re-elected chairman announced he will not run for re-election as a County Board member.

New board members Republican Larry West of District 1, Democrat Linda Slabon of District 5, Democrat Rukisha Crawford of District 6 and Democrat Scott Campbell of District 7 were all sworn in during the meeting at the DeKalb County Legislative Center Gathertorium. Board members also selected again Mark Pietrowski Jr. as chairman and John Frieders as vice chairman with 22-0 votes.

Pietrowski, a Democrat, said it’s a pretty unique situation to have unanimous votes for both positions from the board, especially with governments such as Lake County’s having its votes for the positions be based on party lines.

“I think it’s a real testament to how well we work together,” Pietrowski said.

Frieders, a Republican, said he’s happy to be voted as vice chairman again and is looking forward to working with the new board for the next two years. He said he hopes the board continues to work well together as they face challenges such as the city of DeKalb’s proposed tax increment financing district and seeing the county’s nursing home expansion to completion.

“It should be an exciting couple of years,” Frieders said.

The county’s Ad Hoc Committee also approved term limits – three two-year terms over a 12-year period – for the board chairman and vice chairman positions. Pietrowski said committee members think other county governments in the state should follow the committee’s lead and pass similar measures, including one similar to DeKalb County’s fair redistricting map amendment passed in 2014. Along with not running for re-election as a board member, this also will be Pietrowski’s last term as chairman.

Pietrowski said he’s not sure what his plans look like post County Board, whether that means more time as another elected official, but he wanted to give the board ample notice so people can consider whether they want to run in two years. But, he said, he knew he wanted to serve only two terms as a board member when he was initially elected six years ago.

“Eight years, I feel, is enough time on this particular board,” Pietrowski said.

The board remains evenly split, with 12 Republicans and 12 Democrats.

Update hourly