Related topics

Sports Shorts

November 20, 1989

CINCINNATI (AP) _ Tom Kite, golf’s new all-time money-winning leader, was voted Player of the Year by the Golf Writers Association of America Monday.

Betsy King and Bob Charles were chosen as Players of the Year for the LPGA and the Seniors Tour, GWAA president Joe Greenday announced.

The writers also selected P.J. Boatwright Jr. for the Bill Richardson Award and Linda Craft for the Ben Hogan Award.

The Richardson Award is made for outstanding contributions to the game. Boatwright is Executive Director of Rules and Competitions for the U.S. Golf Association.

The Hogan Award goes annually to a person who has overcome serious illness or injury and returned to golf. Craft, a former LPGA Tour player and now a teaching pro, has had a lengthy battle with cancer.

Kite, who won the PGA’s Player of the Year title last month, became the PGA Tour’s all-time money-winner when he won the Nabisco Championship at Hilton Head Island, S.C.

Kite led the Tour in money-winnings this year with a record $1,395,276 and, in addition to Nabisco, won the Players Championship and the Bay Hill Classic. He also won the writers’ Player of the Year Award in 1981.

King won six LPGA titles this year, including the ladies’ U.S. Open, and led the money-winners with $654,132.

Charles won five official and one unofficial Senior Tour events and, with two tournaments to go, leads the seniors in money-winnings and scoring average.


LONDON (AP) - Katie Rickett, ranked only 17th in the country, was a surprise selection on the British team announced Monday for the Maureen Connolly international tennis competition against the United States.

The tournament will be played at Cardiff, Wales, Dec 6-8.

Rickett spent the summer in the United States on the Women’s Satellite Tour and has shown greatly-improved form.

The four other members of the British team are Sarah Loosemore, Valda Lake, Anne Simpkin and Clare Wood, who recently won the British National Championship.

The United States leads 13-3 in the international series for women players under 21 years old. Britain won the last two, however, in London in 1987 and in Midland, Texas last year.


INDIANAPOLIS (AP) - The Indianapolis Colts will draw more than 10,000 kids to the Hoosier Dome on Tuesday to give them an important message: Leave drugs alone.

Eight Colts will debut a new anti-drug rap song, titled ″Leave it Alone,″ for middle school students from eight central Indiana counties.

Running back Eric Dickerson will urge the students to lead drug-free lives.

The rally is the idea of Keith Newton, the Colts assistant public relations director, and Karen Braeckel of Indianapolis Newspapers Inc.

Newton said he was tired of turning down requests from schools that wanted Colts players to speak about drug abuse.

″We thought instead of having the Colts go out the kids, this would be bringing the kids to the Colts,″ Newton said.


MILAN, Italy (AP) - Franco Baresi, one of Europe’s top soccer players and a star defender on the Italian national team, has been sentenced to 10 months in jail for failing to report under-the-table payments from the Milan club to tax authorities.

Also sentenced Saturday were former club president Giuseppe Farina, former manager Nils Liedholm of Sweden and five other present and former Milan players. Fines also were levied.

The case involves tax returns of four years ago.

Baresi and the other defendants will appeal the sentence and court sources said nobody would serve prison terms.

Baresi fractured his left forearm in a game Sunday and will be out for about a month.


BETWS-Y-COED, Wales (AP) - Carlos Sainz of Spain took over the lead in the Lombard RAC rally Monday, nudging three seconds ahead of two-time world champion Juha Kankkunen of Finland.

Kankukken, surrendering the lead for the first time since the opening stages, was six seconds in front of Sweden’s Kenneth Eriksson.

Welshman David Llewellin, Britain’s main hope, was among the leaders before the turbo in his Toyota Celica broke and the sputtered to a crawl in the Welsh forests.

No Briton has won the rally since since Roger Clark in 1976.


NEW YORK (AP) - Barbara Bush, wife of the president, was named honorary chairperson Monday for the 1990 Federation Cup, the annual International Tennis Federation’s women’s team tennis event.

The tournament with 44 countries entered, returns to the United States for the first time in eight years next summer with competition scheduled for July 22-29 at Atlanta. The U.S. will be defending the Cup after winning it for the 13th time last month in Tokyo.

Update hourly