Related topics

The Palestinian Delegation

July 11, 2000

A look at some of the prominent members of the Palestinian delegation to the Camp David summit, headed by Yasser Arafat:

AHMED QUREIA, Palestinian parliament speaker. Called ``Mr. Peace″ by some Palestinians, Qureia has many Israeli friends. Was one of the main figures at the Oslo negotiations in 1993.

MAHMOUD ABBAS, head of the Palestinian negotiating team and secretary of the PLO executive committee. Although no clear successor to Arafat has emerged, he is regarded as Arafat’s No. 2 man.

MOHAMMED DAHLAN, head of Palestinian Preventative Security Service in the Gaza Strip. Considered a rising star in Palestinian politics. Deported from Gaza by the Israelis in 1985. Became head of preventive security in Gaza after establishment of the Palestinian Authority.

YASSER ABED RABBO, The Palestinian minister of information has been chief negotiator for the Palestinians on final-status issues.

HASSAN ASFOUR, Palestinian minister for nongovernmental organizations. Was member of the Palestinian Communist Party in Lebanon and member of the Palestinian delegation to the secret Oslo negotiations. Very close to Arafat.

NABIL SHAATH, minister of planning and international cooperation. Former teacher at Egyptian universities. Involved in negotiations with Israel since 1993, in Cairo and Taba.

SAEB EREKAT, chief Palestinian negotiator on matters connected with the interim settlement. An academic and a vocal spokesman for the Palestinian cause, especially on U.S. television.

Update hourly