Related topics

Robinson, Edwards, Summitt chosen for FIBA Hall

May 27, 2013

David Robinson, Pat Summitt and Teresa Edwards headline the 2013 FIBA Hall of Fame class.

Robinson won two gold medals and a bronze in the Olympics. He played for the U.S. on the 1988, 1992 and 1996 teams, becoming the first American to appear in three games. He’s the all-time leading rebounder and shot blocker for the U.S. in the Olympics and No. 2 scorer. Robinson also helped the U.S. win a gold medal at the 1986 world championships when the Americans still sent college players to take on other nations’ pros.

Summitt, the all-time leader in victories in college basketball, won a silver medal as a player on the 1976 Olympic team and guided the U.S. to gold in 1984. She is one of only two American women to win a medal as both a player and head coach, joining Anne Donovan. Summitt also was the coach of the 1979 world championship team that won America’s first gold medal at the event since 1957.

Edwards helped the U.S. win four gold medals and a bronze in her five Olympics from 1984-2000, making her the most decorated Olympic basketball player ever. Oscar Schmidt of Brazil and Andrew Gaze of Australia played in five Olympics but never won a medal. She’s the Americans’ all-time assists leader and is in the top 10 in scoring and rebounding.

“What can I say? It took me all around the world,” Edwards said. “Now the FIBA Hall of Fame is calling me home to stay forever. Who in their right mind wouldn’t be excited about this?”

Gaze is also part of this Hall of Fame class. Other player inductees include Jean-Jacques Conceicao (Angola), Paula Goncalves (Brazil) and Zoran Slavnic (Serbia). Former coaches Jack Donohue (Canada) and Cesare Rubini (Italy) join Summitt.

Technical officials Valeentin Lazarov (Bulgaria) and Costas Rigas (Greece), along with contributor Aldo Vitale (Italy), round out the class.

“These are great personalities who have experienced great success on and off the court, but who also stand out for the character they have shown and for the countless efforts they have made to help promote our sport,” said FIBA secretary general Patrick Baumann.

The induction ceremony will be June 19.

Cheryl Miller and Oscar Robertson were part of the last class enshrined in 2010.


Follow Doug on Twitter at http://www.twitter.com/dougfeinberg

Update hourly