Related topics

    The Latest: Former Carroll, Rocky AD Parker honored by NAIA

    September 17, 2018

    HELENA, Mont. (AP) — The Latest on NAIA Hall of Fame nominations (all times local):

    2:15 p.m.

    Bruce Parker, who has served as athletics director at both Carroll College and Rocky Mountain College, is a member of the 2018 NAIA Hall of Fame class.

    Rocky Mountain College announced the honor on Monday.

    Parker was Rocky’s athletics director from July 2014 until he retired in February 2018. He was AD at Carroll from 2003 to June 2014 and was named as one of the NAIA’s athletic directors of the year in 2009, 2011 and 2017. Parker was named the Frontier Conference athletic director of the year eight times in 15 years.

    The induction ceremony is set for April 2019 in West Palm Beach, Florida

    11:25 a.m.

    Carroll College football coach Mike Van Diest, who has led the Saints to six national titles, will be inducted into the NAIA Hall of Fame.

    Carroll says Van Diest joins four other former Saints coaches and players in the Hall of Fame, including two of his players — quarterback Tyler Emmert and tight end Casey Fitzsimmons. The coaches honored are the late Archbishop Raymond Hunthausen and the late Robert Petrino.

    Van Diest says he looked through the names of those previously honored and said he was humbled to stand in their company.

    Van Diest’s teams have posted a 201-49 record and have won 14 Frontier Conference championships since he was hired in 1999. The Saints won four straight NAIA national titles from 2002-2005 and won title games again in 2007 and 2010. Van Diest was the NAIA national coach of the year in 2003 and 2005.

    Update hourly