Related topics

Ganassi announces driver lineup for 2016 IMSA season

November 21, 2015

HOMESTEAD, Fla. (AP) — Chip Ganassi Racing has announced its driver lineup for the 2016 IMSA season.

Ryan Briscoe, Joey Hand, Dirk Muller and Richard Westbrook will drive for Ganassi in the WeatherTech SportsCar Championship. Hand and Muller will share the seat in the No. 66 Ford GT, while Briscoe and Westbrook will handle the No. 67 Ford GT.

The car numbers pay homage to the Ford GT’s original predecessor, the Ford GT-40. The GT-40 won the 24 Hours of Le Mans in 1966 and 1967. Ford marks the 50th anniversary of that first significant win with the return of the Ford GT to Le Mans in 2016.

Ganassi’s driver lineup is a global group, with Briscoe from Australia, Hand from the United States, Muller from Germany and Westbrook from the United Kingdom.

Ganassi has yet to announce his plans for the Daytona Prototype class for the season-opening Rolex 24 at Daytona.

Update hourly