Leaders stay the same in election results

November 15, 2018

MOUNT VERNON — The leaders in each of the races that appeared on the Skagit County ballot for the Nov. 6 general election remained unchanged Wednesday.

The Skagit County Elections Department counted 5,610 ballots Wednesday, and has now counted 41,230 of an estimated 56,230.

The department will release updated totals Thursday and plans to certify the results of the election Nov. 27.

In the closest of the races that appeared on the Skagit County ballot, Dave Paul continues to lead Dave Hayes for Hayes’ state House seat representing the 10th Legislative District.

Paul, who led by 341 votes Tuesday evening, had a 456-vote lead through Wednesday afternoon.

The 10th Legislative District includes Island County, southwest Skagit County and northwest Snohomish County.

In county races, Sandy Perkins leads Mike Urban by 4,555 votes for county auditor, Jackie Brunson is 5,386 votes ahead of Bradley Whaley for county treasurer, Laura Riquelme leads Rosemary Kaholokula by 2,535 votes for Superior Court judge, and Joe Lindquist leads Robbie Robertson by 11,335 votes for Skagit Public Utility District commissioner.

Little has changed in regard to the three local measures on the county ballot.

The county charter measure is failing by 12,478 votes, the sales tax increase to fund the Anacortes Transportation Benefit District is passing by 1,399, and the Sedro-Woolley school bond has 3,942 yes votes and 4,156 no votes.

The bond requires 60 percent approval to pass.

In other state Legislature races, leaders in contested races are Norma Smith (10th District, House), Keith Wagoner (39th District, Senate), Robert J. Sutherland (39th District, House), Carolyn Eslick (39th District, House) and Debra Lekanoff (40th District, House).

Cecily Hazelrigg-Hernandez continues to lead Tom SeGuine for a judge seat on the state Court of Appeals, while national legislative leaders remain the three incumbents — Maria Cantwell (Senate), Suzan DelBene (House, District 1) and Rick Larsen (House, District 2).

Update hourly