New laws include higher minimum wage for Delaware workers
DOVER, Del. (AP) — The New Year will be a little more prosperous for minimum wage workers in Delaware.
A new law taking effect on Jan. 1 raises the state’s minimum wage from $8.25 an hour to $8.75 an hour.
The pay increase also comes with a new provision in state law that allows employers to pay a reduced minimum wage to probationary workers and teens. Employers can pay new adult hires 50 cents less than the minimum wage for the first 90 days on the job. They can also pay workers under age 18 a wage that is 50 cents less than the standard minimum wage.
Other new laws taking effect Jan. 1 include mandates for sexual harassment training in the workplace and performance evaluations for contractors on public works projects.