AP NEWS
Press release content from Globe Newswire. The AP news staff was not involved in its creation.
PRESS RELEASE: Paid content from Globe Newswire
Press release content from Globe Newswire. The AP news staff was not involved in its creation.

Last Chance for Animals Urges Texans to Oppose Dangerous Ag-Gag Bill, SB 1884

May 16, 2019

LOS ANGELES, May 16, 2019 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- On May 15, 2019, Senate Bill 1884 – relating to the protection of animal and crop facilities; creating a criminal offense – passed the House Agriculture & Livestock Committee. The freedom-crushing bill is now headed to the Calendars Committee to determine whether or not the bill should be heard on the House floor.

Your help is needed now more than ever to defeat this dangerous bill. If signed into law, SB 1884 would make it illegal to expose animal cruelty and neglect on factory farms.

Help ensure SB 1884 does not pass the House Calendars Committee! If your representative sits on the committee, please contact him/her today and voice your opposition to SB 1884. See below for the committee members’ email addresses and phone numbers. You can use the following script for calls or emails: “My name is _______. As your constituent, I am [calling][emailing] to respectfully urge you to vote no on Sen. Kolkhorst’s freedom-crushing ag-gag bill, SB 1884. This pro-cruelty bill would make it illegal to expose situations of animal abuse and neglect on factory farms. Please help ensure Texas protects the animals, not the animal abusers. Thank you.”

Rep. Four Price, Chair four.price@house.texas.gov | (512) 463-0470

Rep. Joe Moody, Vice Chair joe.moody@house.texas.gov | (512) 463-0728

Rep. Joseph “Joe” Deshotel joe.deshotel@house.texas.gov | (512) 463-0662

Rep. John Frullo john.frullo@house.texas.gov | (512) 463-0676

Rep. Craig Goldman craig.goldman@house.texas.gov | (512) 463-0608

Rep. Oscar Longoria oscar.longoria@house.texas.gov | (512) 463-0645

Rep. Will Metcalf will.metcalf@house.texas.gov | (512) 463-0726

Rep. Tom Oliverson tom.oliverson@house.texas.gov | (512) 463-0661

Rep. Eddie Rodriguez eddie.rodriguez@house.texas.gov | (512) 463-0674

Rep. Toni Rose toni.rose@house.texas.gov | (512) 463-0664

Rep. John Wray john.wray@house.texas.gov | (512) 463-0516

ABOUT LAST CHANCE FOR ANIMALS:LCA is an international non-profit organization dedicated to eliminating animal exploitation through education, investigations, legislation, and public awareness campaigns. Since its formation in 1984, LCA has succeeded as one of the nation’s pioneer animal advocacy groups. LCA’s educational and public outreach programs have empowered the public to make positive changes for animals in their communities. For more information, visit https://www.lcanimal.org/.

Press Contact: Audrey Harvey Campaigns@LCAnimal.org, (310) 271-6096 x27