Related topics

Pakistan wins toss, elects to bat vs SA in 1st T20

November 13, 2013

DUBAI, United Arab Emirates (AP) — Pakistan captain Mohammad Hafeez won the toss and elected to bat against South Africa in the first Twenty20 on Wednesday.

Pakistan is No. 2 in the world Twenty20 rankings but if it wins the two-match series against the Proteas 2-0 it could replace Sri Lanka at No. 1.

Experienced allrounders Abdul Razzaq and Shoaib Malik return for Pakistan after missing the one-day series which Pakistan lost 4-1 last Monday.

South Africa relied on its tried and tested players in the one-day series which means Twenty20 specialists — opening batsman Henry Davids and spinner Aaron Phangiso — have to wait for their turn.



South Africa: Faf du Plessis (captain), Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, AB de Villiers, David Miller, Ryan McLaren, Wayne Parnell, Dale Steyn, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Imran Tahir

Pakistan: Mohammad Hafeez (captain), Ahmad Shehzad, Sohaib Maqsood, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Abdul Razzaq, Shahid Afridi, Sohail Tanvir, Abdul Rehman, Saeed Ajmal, Mohammad Irfan

Update hourly