Ricketts, Fischer win

November 7, 2018

Republican Gov. Pete Ricketts and Sen. Deb Fischer cruised to re-election Tuesday, toppling Democratic challengers Bob Krist and Jane Raybould of Lincoln.

However, Democrats and others who backed a statewide initiative to expand Medicaid in Nebraska still had reason for optimism. Supporters held a 44,000-vote margin over those opposed as of around 9:20 p.m.

Nebraska’s three incumbent GOP congressmen also held early leads, including in the Omaha area’s hotly contested 2nd District race between Rep. Don Bacon and Kara Eastman.

In the 1st District, which includes Lincoln, incumbent Republican Congressman Jeff Fortenberry led Democratic challenger Jessica McClure by about 6,000 votes overall. McClure held a 4,600-vote lead in Lancaster County.

Smith wins

Rep. Adrian Smith defeated Democratic challenger Paul Theobald in the 3rd District.

Update hourly