Senate Democrats announce committee assignments

December 21, 2018

After weeks of meetings, Senate President Pro Tempore Martin Looney, D-New Haven, announced Friday which committees each of his Democratic senators will chair in 2019 and 2020.

“The talent and experience embodied in both our returning and new members will help Connecticut to creatively pursue opportunities and confront challenges in the next two years to the benefit of the people of our state,” Looney said in a written statement.

The two all-important budget making committees will see continued leadership by Sen. Cathy Osten of Sprague (Appropriations) and Sen. John Fonfara (Finance, Revenue and Bonding).

Sen. Gary Winfield of New Haven will chair the key Judiciary Committee, after the previous chair Sen. Paul Doyle of Wethersfield abandoned his seat to run for attorney general.

Meanwhile, several new senators-elect will chair committees aligned with their expertise. Julie Kushner of Danbury, a former labor leader, will chair the Labor and Public Employees Committee. Will Haskell of Wilton, who graduated from Georgetown University in 2018, will chair the Higher Education Committee. Norm Needleman of Essex, who runs an effervescent tablet company, will chair energy and technology.

Neither Republicans nor House Democrats have announced their committee assignments yet. A complete list of Senate Democrats committee positions are online.

Update hourly