Related topics

Golf Glance

March 14, 2017



Site: Orlando, Fla.

Course: Bay Hill Lodge & Resort. Yardage: 7,419. Par: 72.

Purse: $8.7 million. First prize: $1,566,000.

Television: Thursday-Friday, 2-6 p.m. (Golf Channel); Saturday-Sunday, 12:30-2:30 p.m. (Golf Channel), 2:30-6 p.m. (NBC).

Defending champion: Jason Day.

Last week: Adam Hadwin won the Valspar Championship.

Notes: This is the first tournament at Bay Hill since Arnold Palmer died in September. ... Day’s victory a year ago began a stretch of three wins in six starts that established him at No. 1 in the world for the rest of 2016. ... Among the activities to celebrate Palmer was the unveiling of a 13-foot bronze statue of Palmer behind the first tee. Also, his golf cart equipped with two bags on the back will be stationed behind the 16th tee, his favorite viewing spot. ... Graeme McDowell, who is still playing, was selected one of four hosts for the tournament this year. The others are Curtis Strange, Peter Jacobsen and Annika Sorenstam. ... The field includes four of the top six players in the world. Missing are Dustin Johnson, who hasn’t played since 2011, and Jordan Spieth, who has never played. Both have the Match Play and Houston Open the next two weeks before the Masters. ... The tournament record is 264 by the late Payne Stewart in 1987. It’s is the second-oldest 72-hole record on the PGA Tour behind Riviera. ... Johnson, Spieth and Phil Mickelson are not playing any event in the Florida Swing ahead of the Masters. ... John Daly received a sponsor’s exemption and will be at Bay Hill for the first time since 2006.

Next week: Dell Technologies Match Play and Puerto Rico Open.

Online: www.pgatour.com




Site: Phoenix.

Course: Wildfire GC at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa. Yardage: 6,679. Par: 72.

Purse: $1.5 million. First prize: $225,000.

Television: Thursday-Friday, 6-9 p.m. (Golf Channel); Saturday-Sunday, 7-9 p.m. (Golf Channel).

Last tournament: Inbee Park won the HSBC Women’s Champions.

Notes: The tournament was created ini 2011 to honor the 13 women who started the LPGA Tour in 1950. It has raised over $3 million for the LPGA-USGA Girls Golf Program. ... Karrie Webb won the inaugural tournament, and her victory in 2014 made her the only repeat winner. ... The field includes all four winners this year — Brittany Lincicome, Amy Yang, HaNa Jang and Inbee Park. ... Solheim Cup captain Juli Inkster is playing. ... Michelle Wie tied for fourth at the HSBC Women’s Champions two weeks ago, her best finish since she won the U.S. Women’s Open at Pinehurst No. 2 in 2014. ... Park went over $13 million in career earnings with her victory ini the HSBC Women’s Champions. ... The Founders Cup is the first U.S. tournament of the year and starts a stretch of three consecutive weeks through the first major, the ANA Inspiration. ... Stacy Lewis is the only American to have won the Founders Cup in its six years.

Next week: Kia Classic.

Online: www.lpga.com




Site: Tucson, Ariz.

Course: Omni Tucson National (Catalina Course). Yardage: 7,238. Par: 73.

Purse: $1.7 million. First prize: $255,000.

Television: Friday, 9:30-11:30 p.m. (Golf Channel); Saturday-Sunday, 4:30-7 p.m. (Golf Channel).

Last tournament: Fred Couples won the Chubb Classic.

Notes: Steve Stricker, who turned 50 on Feb. 23, is making his debut on the PGA Tour Champions. Stricker missed the cut in the Valspar Championship last week and next players the Shell Houston Open. ... Coming off his victory last month in the Chubb Classic, Fred Couples is leading the Charles Schwab Cup standings. It’s the first time since May 19 that someone other than Bernhard Langer was atop the standings. Langer is in second place by $93,150. ... Tucson National previous hosted a PGA Tour event that ended when the Match Play Championship moved to the area from 2007 through 2014. ... Langer has a streak of 29 straight rounds under par. Gil Morgan holds the PGA Tour Champions record with 31 straight sub-par rounds in 2000. Colin Montgomerie is at 30 consecutive sub-par rounds, but he is not playing this week.

Next tournament: Mississippi Gulf Resort Classic on March 31-April 2.

Online: www.pgatour.com/champions



Last week: S.S.P. Chawrasia won the Hero Indian Open.

Next week: Dell Technologies Match Play.

Online: www.europeantour.com



Last tournament: Andrew Putnam won the Panama Claro Championship.

Next week: Chitimacha Louisiana Open.

Online: www.pgatour.com/webcom




PGA Tour Latinoamerica: Guatemala Stella Artois Open, La Reunion Resort, Antigua, Guatemala. Defending champion: John Young Kim. Online: www.pgatour.com/la/en

PGA Tour of Australasia: Coca-Cola Queensland PGA Championship, City GC, Toowoomba, Australia. Defending champion: David Klein. Online: www.pgatour.org.au

European Senior Tour: Sharjah Senior Golf Masters, Sharjah Golf & Shooting Club, Sharjah, UAE. New tournament. Online: www.europeantour.com/seniortour


Ladies European Tour and Korean LPGA: SGF67 World Ladies Championship, Mission Hills GC Haikou, Hainan Island, China. Defending champion: Jung-Min Lee. Online: www.ladieseuropeantour.com and www.klpga.co.kr

Japan LPGA: T-Point Ladies Golf Tournament, Kagoshima Takamaki CC, Kagoshima, Japan. Defending champion: Kaori Ohe. Online: www.lpga.or.jp

Update hourly