Related topics

National Association Of Black Journalists Presents Awards

August 21, 1989

NEW YORK (AP) _ CNN anchor Bernard Shaw has been named journalist of the year at the 14th annual convention of the National Association of Black Journalists.

At awards ceremonies Saturday in the Apollo Theater in Harlem, Peggy Peterman, a columnist for the St. Petersburg (Fla.) Times, was presented a lifetime achievement award.

The convention, attended by about 2,000 journalists, featured speeches by U.S. Army Gen. Colin Powell, selected by President Bush to head the Joint Chiefs of Staff, Prime Minister Michael Manley of Jamaica and Diane Abbott, the first black woman elected to Great Britain’s Parliament.

South African journalist Dennis Prather was also honored, receiving the Percy Qoboza award named for a late South African journalist.

Other awards presented included:

-International print reporting, 75,000-plus circulation. David Zucchino, The Philadelphia Inquirer, for ″Being Black in South Africa.″

-General News, 75,000-plus circulation. Bill Dedman, the Atlanta Journal and Constitution, for ″The Color of Money.″

-Features, 75,000-plus circulation. The staff of The Birmingham (Ala.) News for ″Then and Now: Reality in Black and White.″

-Features, under 75,000 circulation. Tonnya Kennedy of the Nashville (Tenn.) Banner for ″Dream Still Eludes Middle Income Blacks.″

-Sports, 75,000-plus circulation. Larry Whiteside of The Boston Globe for ″Bill White, National League President.″

-Commentary, 75,000-plus circulation. Clarence Page of the Chicago Tribune.

-Commentary, under 75,000 circulation. Clayton Hardiman of The Muskegon (Mich.) Chronicle.

-Photojournalism. Ovie Carter of the Chicago Tribune for ″Chicago Schools: Worst in America.″

-Radio documentary. Lynda Moore and Chuck Taylor of ABC-Radio New York for ″Civil Rights Soundtrack.″

-International television reporting. Trudi Brown and Phillip Carroll of WCAU-TV in Philadelphia for ″An American Lion in Africa.″

-General news TV reporting. Rehema Ellis and John Hashimoto of WNEV-TV in Boston for ″Roxbury: Night and Day.″

-TV feature, network or top 15 markets. Bob Brown and Karen Saunders of ABC News’ 20-20 for ″An Extraordinary Journey.″

-TV feature, smaller markets. Bob West and Brian Igelman of WTKR-TV in Norfolk, Va., for ″The Black Lifesavers for Pea Island.″

-TV sports feature. Ben V. Williams of KPIX-TV in San Francisco, for profile of Travis Williams.

-TV documentary. Bruce Barry and Bob Shepard of WTKR-TV in Norfolk, Va., for ″Operation Smile in Liberia.″

-TV photojournalism. Trudi Brown and Phillip Carroll of WCAU-TV in Philadelphia for ″An American Lion in Africa.″

Update hourly