Pakistan wins toss, will bat first versus India at Asia Cup

September 23, 2018

Indian and Pakistani fans cheer for their teams before the start of the one day international cricket match of Asia Cup between India and Pakistan in Dubai, United Arab Emirates, Sunday, Sept. 23, 2018. (AP Photo/Aijaz Rahi)

DUBAI, United Arab Emirates (AP) — Pakistan won the toss and elected to bat first in an Asia Cup match against India on Sunday.

Both teams have won their opening Super Four stage matches. India was dominant in its comprehensive seven-wicket win over Bangladesh, while Pakistan triumphed over a fighting Afghanistan with just three balls to spare.

The winner today is almost guaranteed to secure a place in the final.

As expected, India fielded an unchanged side from the one that beat Bangladesh, while Pakistan brought in fast bowler Mohammad Amir and spinner Shadab Khan to replace Usman Shinwari and Haris Sohail.

Earlier, in a group stage match, India defeated Pakistan by eight wickets, chasing down a meagre target of 162 in the 29th over.



India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni, Dinesh Karthik, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal.

Pakistan: Sarfraz Ahmed (captain), Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul Haq, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Nawaz, Shadab Khan, Hasan Ali, Asif Ali, Mohammad Amir and Shaheen Afridi.

Update hourly