Locals Named National Merit Semifinalists

September 16, 2018

EVANSTON, Ill. -- The National Merit Scholarship Corporation has announced the names of about 16,000 semifinalists, including dozens of local high-school students, in the 64th annual National Merit Scholarship Program.

These academically talented high-school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $31 million that will be offered next spring.

To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the finalist level. More than 90 percent of the semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing, and about half of those finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the title of Merit Scholar.

Following are local semifinalists.

Acton-Boxboro Regional High School: Ivana Barnes, Sarika Chawla, Grace Du, Alyssa Fayerman, Andy Gu, Brian Hu, David Lu, Somya Prabhakar, Isabel Silverman, Christopher Wang, Iris Wang, Richard Wang, Carrie Yu, Grace Zhang.

Bedford High School: Lucy Santiago, Christopher Wirth.

Bromfield School: Nikhil Kommineni, Rahul Kumarasinghe, Kate Selig.

Burlington High School: Joseph Hwang.

Chelmsford High School: John Lambert.

Concord Academy: Matthew Bresler, Asa Hamot, Hyowon Kang, Justin Kim, Samantha Morrison, Alexander Tesson, Kathryn Woolford.

Concord-Carlisle Regional High School: Megan Concannon, Zoe Macy, Phoebe Meyerson, Justin Reed, Louisa Stevens.

Groton-Dunstable Regional High School: Megan Fitzpatrick.

Groton School: Lars Caspersen, Yunona Iwasaki, Karla Sanford, Brian Xiao.

Littleton High School: Sarah Gordon, Ella Heitmeyer.

Lowell High School: Katherine Huang.

Middlesex School: Jeremiah DeGreeff, Joshua Quirk.

Westford Academy: Nikhil Gaddam, Carina Hou, Dan Le, Garrett O’Connor, Patrick Ward, James Weaver, Helen Zhou.

Wilmington High School: Prathik Ramesh.

Update hourly