Republicans win in Ogle County

November 7, 2018

OREGON – As expected in a Republican stronghold, the GOP claimed all but one of the contested races in Ogle County on Tuesday.

Incumbents Pat Nordman and Wayne Reising, both of Oregon, kept their seats on the county board in District 2, defeating Democratic challenger Jerry Shirar of Oregon.

Vote tallies were 1,640 for Nordman, 1,256 for Reising, and 870 for Shirar.

District 2 encompasses Oregon-Nashua, White Rock, Pine Rock, and Lafayette townships.

The outcome was much the same in District 7, which includes Mount Morris, Maryland, and Forreston townships.

Republicans Stan Asp of Mount Morris, and Dean Fox of German Valley, garnered 1,435 votes and 1,239, respectively to Mount Morris Independent Chris Kolling’s 569.

All three were running for the first time.

That wasn’t the case in District 3, where Democrat Lloyd Droege and Republicans Greg Sparrow edged out incumbent Jamey Sulser, a newly appointed board member, with 743 and 724 votes to Sulser’s 498.

All three are from Rochelle.

Update hourly