Related topics

Recent Nobel Winners in Physics

October 13, 1998

Recent winners of the Nobel Prize in physics:

1998 _ Robert B. Laughlin, American; Horst L. Stormer, German; Daniel C. Tsui, Chinese-born American, for their discovery of a new type of quantum fluid.

1997 _ Steven Chu and William Phillips of the United States and Claude Cohen Tannoudji of France for their work in cooling and trapping atoms with laser light.

1996 _ David M. Lee, Douglas D. Osheroff and Robert C. Richardson of the United States for their discovery of superfluidity in helium-3.

1995 _ Martin L. Perl and Frederick Reines of the United States for pioneering experimental contributions to lepton physics.

1994 _ Bertram N. Brockhouse of Canada and Clifford G. Shull of the United States for developing methods of neutron scattering techniques for studies of condensed matter.

1993 _ Russell A. Hulse and Joseph H. Taylor Jr. of the United States for finding a twin star that helped prove Einstein’s theory of relativity.

1992 _ Georges Charpak of France for developing particle detectors and the multiwire proportional chamber.

1991 _ Pierres-Gilles de Gennes of France for developing systems for analyzing complex matter such as liquid crystals and polymers.

1990 _ Jerome I. Friedman and Henry W. Kendall of the United States and Richard E. Taylor of Canada for investigating the scattering of electrons and refining models of quarks.

1989 _ Norman Ramsey and Hans Dehmelt of the United States and Wolfgang Paul of West Germany for inventing methods used in atomic clocks and ion trap techniques.

1988 _ Leon Lederman, Melvin Schwartz and Jack Steinberger of the United States for developing the neutrino beam and discovering new types of neutrinos.

Update hourly