VanderWall wins 35th State Senate seat

November 7, 2018

State Rep. Curt VanderWall will add a new title to his name in January having easily won the 35th State Senate seat Tuesday.

Vanderwall tallied 72,739 votes (62.8 percent) almost doubling Democratic challenger Mike Taillard’s 39,989 votes (34.54 percent). Libertarian candidate Timothy Coon garnered 3,035 votes (2.6 percent).

“Here we go,” the Republican from Pere Marquette Township said Wednesday morning while picking up campaign signs in Osceola County, one of 12 in the sprawling, 12-county district. “The reality is I’m excited. The phone calls have already started with some of the issues in the district. We have a lot of work to do.

VanderWall, a former Mason County Commissioner and owner of a lawn care business, will move to the State Senate after only one term as State Representative.

’What an honor to be elected to be able to serve the folks in the 35TH District,” VanderWall said. “What an unbelievable feeling.”

He won every one of Mason County’s 25 precincts and was pleased with the overall margin of victory, saying they did what they set out to do.

Current 35th District State Sen. Darwin Booher, R-Evart, is term-limited and could not seek re-election.

For more, see Thursday’s Ludington Daily News.

Update hourly