LaFear, Morrison, Morabito take GHPRD seats

November 8, 2018

HUNTINGTON — JillLaFear, Alan S. Morrison and Rocco Morabito were leading in their contests for the Greater Huntington Park & Recreation District Board, per unofficial results Tuesday evening, with 34 of 34 precincts reporting.

LaFear, a Republican, ran for the District 1 seat against Democratic candidate Pete Gillespie. LaFear received 14,352 votes over Gillespie’s 11,958. LaFear is the owner of Ackenpucky, an interior design firm, and has served on several committees including the Mayor’s Council on the Arts and Huntington’s River to Rail Committee. In her candidate profile, LaFear said she would like to advocate for the construction of indoor tennis facilities.

Morrison, a Democrat who received 13,007 votes, ran for the District 2 seat against Republican candidate Daniel Yon, who received 12,196 votes. Morrison has served on the GHPRD commission for eight years. Morrison said in his candidate profile his priority is to fund and complete the all-inclusive playground at St. Cloud Commons.

Morrison said he’s glad to have the chance to continue to serve on the board and continue to keep green space open and improve recreational opportunities for the public.

Morabito, a Republican, faced no opposition for his District 4 seat. He has served on the Park Board since January 2013 and is the sitting vice president.

The board of commissioners oversees the local park system, which includes more than 1,400 acres of parks in Cabell County and part of Wayne County and four cemeteries. The 11-member park board is broken into six districts: five in Cabell County and one in Westmoreland, which is the Wayne County neighborhood of Huntington.

Members serve six-year staggered terms and receive no financial compensation. Up to two members per district could be elected, with Westmoreland always represented by at least one member. Voters in Cabell County and Westmoreland could vote for up to four candidates in any district, no matter where they reside.

Follow reporter Megan Osborne on Twitter and Facebook @megosborneHD.

Update hourly