Related topics

Sharif appoints new committee to run PCB

October 15, 2013

Pakistan Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif dismissed the governing members of the Pakistan Cricket Board and formed an interim management committee to run cricket in the country.

Najam Sethi, former chairman Shaharyar Khan, former test cricketers Zaheer Abbas and Haroon Rasheed, and former team manager Naved Akram Cheema were appointed to the interim committee.

On the direction of Sharif to elect an interim chairman, the members chose Sethi, who will attend the ICC meeting in London on Friday.

Sharif set up the committee after the PCB said it couldn’t hold court-demanded elections by Friday.

Previous chairman Zaka Ashraf was suspended after his election was challenged in Islamabad High Court, then interim replacement Sethi had his powers restricted by another court.

Update hourly