Pioneers 6, Badgers 3: Wrapup and three stars from Wisconsin’s men’s hockey loss to No. 8 Denver

January 5, 2019

No. 8 Denver got three goals in 2:41 — from Liam Finlay, Tyler Ward and Kohen Olischefski — to turn a tie game at the start of the third period into a runaway, 6-3 victory over the University of Wisconsin men’s hockey team on Friday at the Kohl Center.

Three stars

No. 3: Left wing Jack Gorniak may have been the Badgers’ best all-around forward even though he didn’t have a point.

No. 2: Defenseman Ian Mitchell single-handedly set up the Tyler Ward goal that gave Denver its first two-goal lead.

No. 1: Denver forward Liam Finlay scored the go-ahead goal in the third period and added two assists.

Up next

The Badgers and the Pioneers close the non-conference series at 7 p.m. Saturday.


The University of Wisconsin men’s hockey team opens the second half of the season on Friday (7 p.m., no TV, BTN Plus pay stream, 1310 AM) with a big challenge against No. 8 Denver.

Not only are the Badgers playing a team ranked sixth in the PairWise Rankings, they’re doing it without leading scorer K’Andre Miller, who’s with Team USA at the World Junior Championship.

Jesper Peltonen will make his first appearance in the defensive top six against the Pioneers, working with Ty Emberson.

Denver has Canadian defenseman Ian Mitchell back from the World Juniors.

Badgers (8-7-3)


Jack Gorniak - Seamus Malone - Will Johnson

Linus Weissbach - Tarek Baker - Sean Dhooghe

Roman Ahcan - Dominick Mersch - Brock Caufield

Max Zimmer - Mick Messner - Jason Dhooghe

Matthew Freytag


Tyler Inamoto - Wyatt Kalynuk

Josh Ess - Peter Tischke

Jesper Peltonen - Ty Emberson


Daniel Lebedeff

Jack Berry

Johan Blomquist

Pioneers (10-4-2)


Jarid Lukosevicius - Cole Guttman - Emilio Pettersen

Colin Staub - Jaakko Heikkinen - Ryan Barrow

Tyler Ward - Kohen Olischefski - Liam Finlay

Jake Durflinger - Tyson McLellan - Jared Resseguie

Brett Stapley


Griffin Mendel - Michael Davies

Slava Demin - Ian Mitchell

Les Lancaster - Erich Fear


Devin Cooley

Filip Larsson

Update hourly