14 applicants seeking seat on New Mexico Supreme Court

December 7, 2018

The state Judicial Nominating Commission announced Thursday that 14 people have submitted applications for two New Mexico Supreme Court vacancies that will be created by the upcoming retirement of Justice Charles W. Daniels and Justice Petra Jimenez Maes. The applicants include Administrative Office of the Courts Director Arthur William Pepin, First Judicial District Judges David K. Thomson and T. Glenn Ellington and state appellate Judge Linda Miriam Vanzi.

The applicants in alphabetic order are:

C. Shannon Bacon

Beatrice J. Brickhouse

Geenebah Michelle Brown-Yazzie

James Waylon Counts

George Phillip Eichwald

T. Glenn Ellington

Damon Paul Martinez

Jeff Foster McElroy

Mel “Dylan” O’Reilly

Arthur William Pepin

William Daniel Slease

David K. Thomson

Jane Bloom Yohalem

Linda Miriam Vanzi

The Judicial Nominating Commission is scheduled to meet at 9 a.m. Jan. 10 at the Supreme Court Building, 237 Don Gaspar Ave., in Santa Fe to evaluate the applicants.

The commission meeting will be open to the public. Those wishing to comment during the hearing are asked to be present at the opening of the meeting.

The names of the commission’s nominees for appointment to the state’s highest court will be forwarded to Gov.-elect Michelle Lujan Grisham to consider for appointment.

Applicants appointed by the governor must later win a partisan election to remain on the bench.

Update hourly