Auto racing: South Dakota driver makes best of his long haul to Deer Creek

May 6, 2019

SPRING VALLEY – The long drive for Cole Searing was worth it.

The Huron, S.D., native made the most of his trip to Deer Creek Speedway on Saturday for the track’s season-opening stock car races.

Searing pulled into Deer Creek with two cars, and he nearly pulled into Victory Lane with two cars.

Searing finished second in the Wissota Midwest Modifieds A-Main, with only Mitch Weiss of Scandia beating him to the checkered flag. Less than an hour later, Searing finished ahead of the entire Wissota Super Stocks field to earn the feature win and a trip to Victory Lane. Searing beat Ryan Wiome of Center City, Minn., to the finish line, with 2018 track runner-up Neil Eckhart placing third and last year’s track champion Jeff Brauer in fourth.

Winona’s Josh Angst won a USRA Modifieds heat race, then captured an A Main that featured a talented and challenging field of competitors. Rochester’s Dustin Sorensen – a high school senior who also won his heat race – placed second, while veteran Brad Waits finished third. Former multi-time track champion Jason Cummins and Winona’s Jake Timm rounded out the top five.

Kory Adams of Stacyville, Iowa, found his way to the finish line first in both of his races Saturday. Adams captured his heat race in the Wissota Street Stocks division, then beat Justin Vogel and Nick Schwebach to the checkers in the feature race.

In the USRA B-Modifieds division, Jim Chisholm of Osage, Iowa, finished the night in the same place he finished last season – on top. The defending track co-champ in the division won Saturday’s feature in a field of 33 cars. Parker Hale of Grand Meadow finished second.

Another night of points races are set for this coming Saturday, with the North Star Nationals – featuring the Lucas Oil Late Model Series – are scheduled for May 18. This week’s points races are scheduled for a 6 p.m. start, with pit gates opening at 3 p.m. and the grandstand opening at 4 p.m. Hot laps will begin at 5:30 p.m.



Feature — 1. Josh Angst (Winona); 2. Dustin Sorensen (Rochester); 3. Brad Waits (Rochester); 4. Jason Cummins (New Richland); 5. Jake Timm (Winona); 6. Brandon Davis (Hayfield); 7. Cory Crapser (Chippewa Falls, Wis.); 8. Joe Horgdal (Kasson); 9. Adam Hensel (Baldwin, Wis.); 10. Jacob Bleess (Chatfield).

Heat winners — Sorensen, Angst, Cummins.


Feature — 1. Cole Searing (Huron, S.D.); 2. Ryan Wiome (Center City); 3. Neil Eckhart (Rochester); 4. Jeff Brauer (Eyota); 5. Casey Underdahl (Woodbury); 6. Brandon Duellman (Winona); 7. Schatney Sanders (Lake City); 8. Kevin Hager (Kellogg); 9. Bobby Gullickson (Kasson); 10. Dennis Dunbar (Winona).

Heat winners — Wiome, Eckhart.


Feature — 1. Kory Adams (Stacyville, Iowa); 2. Justin Vogel (Brooten); 3. Nick Schwebach (Fountain); 4. Eric Riley (Morris); 5. Braden Brauer (Eyota); 6. Jason Newkirk (Austin); 7. Ken Adams (Stacyville); 8. Fred Prudoehl (Winona); 9. Ryan Jacobsen (LeRoy); 10. Cody Hyatt (Waseca).

Heat winners — Dustin Doughty, Kory Adams.


Feature — 1. Mitch Weiss (Scandia); 2. Cole Searing (Huron, S.D.); 3. Nick Koehler (Bloomer, Wis.); 4. Michael Wytaske (Hartland); 5. Dan Wheeler (Savage); 6. Jason Haugerud (Somerset, Wis.); 7. Spencer Stock (Eyota); 8. Peter Leuschner (Comstock, Wis.); 9. Ryan Goergen (Stacyville); 10. Casey Trom (Austin).

Heat winners — Koehler, Kylie Kath, Wheeler.


Feature — 1. Jim Chisholm (Osage, Iowa); 2. Parker Hale (Grand Meadow); 3. Aaron Hoff (Mantorville); 4. Cole Denner (New Hampton, Iowa); 5. Alex Williamson (Rushford); 6. Jayden Larson (Mankato); 7. Ryan Maitland (Waterloo, Iowa); 8. Nick Wagner (Osage, Iowa); 9. Shaun Walski (Rollingstone); 10. Noah Grinstead (Austin).

B Main winners — Alex Schubbe, Tyler Tesch

Heat winners — Grinstead, Hoff, Wagner, Chisholm.