Related topics

Campbell, Ragland, Fortin win Baja 1000 titles

November 16, 1997

ENSENADA, Mexico (AP) _ Johnny Campbell, Larry Ragland and Doug Fortin each claimed overall victories in the SCORE Baja 1000 desert race Saturday.

Campbell posted the fastest time in the 701.4-mile race to win the motorcycle title.

Ragland won the Trophy-Truck division for the third straight year, and Fortin took the overall pro and unlimited Class I victory.

Campbell shared riding duties with Tim Staab and Greg Bringle to win the overall motorcycle and Class 22 title. The trio brought their Honda XR600 across the finish line in 18 hours, 19 minutes and 59 seconds, averaging 52.61 mph.

Ragland drove his Chevrolet C1500 to a time of 13:53:46, averaging 40.47 mph to hold off the Ford F-150 driven by Robby Gordon by just over 30 minutes.

Fortin survived a Pro race plagued with mechanical problems to win in his car powered by a Chevy V4 engine in 14:31:02. Fortin was second overall among four-wheeled vehicles behind Ragland and Gordon.

The 221 racers from 17 states and five countries started the race Friday morning in sunshine to run a course soaked by a prerace rainstorm.

Update hourly