Related topics

AHL Announces Realignment

June 18, 2001

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. (AP) _ The American Hockey League on Monday approved realignment for the upcoming season.

The realignment was necessary after the AHL absorbed six teams from the defunct International Hockey League, added two expansion franchises, and relocated a team from Lexington, Ky., to Cleveland. The league’s 27 teams will be separated into two conferences, each consisting of three division.

Each team will play an unbalanced 80-game schedule. The playoff format will be determined at the league’s annual meeting in early July.


Eastern Conference

East Division: Hartford Wolf Pack, Albany River Rats, Bridgeport Sound Tigers, Providence Bruins and Springfield Falcons.

North Division: Lowell Lock Monsters, Manchester Monarchs, Portland Pirates and Worcester Ice Cats.

Canadian Division: Hamilton Bulldogs, Manitoba Moose, Quebec Citadelles, Saint John Flames and St. John’s Maple Leafs.

Western Conference

West Division: Chicago Wolves, Grand Rapids Griffins, Houston Aeros, Milwaukee Admirals and the Utah Grizzlies.

Central Division: Cincinnati Mighty Ducks, Cleveland, Rochester Americans and Syracuse Crunch.

South Division: Hershey Bears, Norfolk Admirals, Philadelphia Phantoms and Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins.


On the Web: http://www.theahl.com

Update hourly