South Dakota drawing sets ballot listing order for primary

April 2, 2018

PIERRE, S.D. (AP) — U.S. House candidate Neal Tapio and governor hopeful Marty Jackley will be listed first on the ballot in their June Republican primary races.

South Dakota officials held a drawing Monday for statewide and legislative candidates’ ballot orders. In the GOP congressional primary, Shantel Krebs will appear second and Dusty Johnson will be listed third.

Kristi Noem will appear on the ballot second in the race against Jackley to be the Republican candidate for governor. The order-pickers drew numbered objects out of a South Dakota mug featuring a bison to set the candidates’ ballot sequence.

Democratic governor candidate Billie Sutton and U.S. House hopeful Tim Bjorkman don’t have primary challengers.

Update hourly