Turner named 2A All-State MVP for offense; Harvey All-State MVP for defense

December 29, 2018

NEEDLES — There were many student-athletes recognized during the Needles High School Fall Sports Awards Banquet held at BPO Elks Lodge 1608 Dec. 5.

The first to present was NHS Cheerleading Head Coach Karen Smith.

Cheerleaders who received the NIAA 2A South All-League award were Lauren Hartter, Ryly Payson, Reese Payson, Jayden Ybarra and Cali Zahnter. NIAA State awards went to Zahnter, Ybarra, Ryly Payson, Reese Payson and Hartter.

Cross Country Head Coach Chuck Stahl presented next and thanked everyone who helped during the season.

All-League Academic Awards went to Lucas McCann, Tyler Weiss, Imperia Phillips, Aliyah Rentas, Jayden Ybarra, Kameron Ostby and Lauren Hartter. All-State Academic awards went to Hartter, Ostby and Ybarra.

Most improved runner awards went to Payton Sahlstrom and Collin Leivas; coaches awards went to Lynsey Federico and Ostby.

The most valuable runner award went to Christian Zuniga.

The junior varsity volleyball team was next and they recognized all of their players.

Patricia Phelps, Lady ’Stangs varsity volleyball head coach, started by thanking the volunteers, parents and all those who helped during the season. Phelps stated that this was the first time in about 10 years that the Lady ’Stangs varsity volleyball team made it to the playoffs.

All-Academic League awards went to Charley Andrews, Paige Murch, Madison Phillips, Morgan Phillips, Ally Pletcher and Katie Cameron, who was awarded Academic All-State as well.

The NIAA 2A South League defensive player of the year award went to Paige Murch.

Katie Cameron was named to the All-League second team; Riley Breaux received All-League honorable mention.

Paige Murch was named to the NIAA 2A All-State first team.

Next were the junior varsity Mustangs football team awards presented by coach Isidro Ramirez.

Ramirez stated that he was proud of the athletes who were in the JV squad and expects them to improve greatly next year.

Coach Matt Fromelt presented awards earned by the NIAA 2A State Runners-up NHS Mustangs Varsity Football Team.

Before Fromelt presented, it was stated that he had won the NIAA 2A State Head Coach of the year award for the second year in a row.

Academic All-League awards went to Jacob Chavez, Gabriel Belt, Dawsen Yeager, Phillip Cochran, Nathan Parker and John Perez. All-State Academic awards went to Chavez, Belt and Yeager.

The South League offensive player of the year was Marcus Turner.

The South League defensive player of the year was Doogie Harvey.

The South League lineman of the year was Teran Woody.

Nathan Wilfong, Dillon Horn, and John Perez were named to the All-League first team.

Jesse Zamora, Nathan Parker, Tyler White, Isiah Turner, Trevyn Diaz, James Fuller and Coy Cameron were named to the All-League second team.

The NIAA 2A All-State Most Valuable Player on offense was Marcus Turner. The defensive line MVP was Doogie Harvey.

Dillon Horn, John Perez, Doogie Harvey, Teran Woody and Michael Necochea were named to the All-State first team. Nathan Wilfong and Tyler White were named to the All-State second team.

Update hourly