Fort Bend ISD election results

May 5, 2019

Updated: 7:10 p.m.

More than 16,000 people cast votes early in the Fort Bend ISD board election where 16 candidates were vying for seats, according to unofficial results.

The closest race is the one for Position 5, which was previously held by Fort Bend County Judge KP George. Lily Q. Lam takes 25. 13 percent of the vote or 2,240 against Allison Drew who received 2,276 votes -- just 36 more votes than Lam.

Rosenthal, who had the highest number of competitors, is leading in the Position 7 seat with 44.7 percent of the vote. The next highest was Monica Riley with 19.52 percent.

Jim Rice, the incumbent for Position 3, has 46.82 percent of votes.

Stay tuned for updates.

-----Previous story -----

More than dozen candidates are vying for positions on the Fort Bend Independent School District board, including five seeking the Position 5 seat left vacant by newly elected County Judge KP George.

Cynthia Lenton Gary, Jason A. Dobrolecki, Pam D. Sutherland, Lily Q. Lam and Allison Drew are just five of the 16 candidates seeking a seat on the Fort Bend ISD board. The five are running for the Position 5 seat.

For Position 7, incumbent Dave Rosenthal will face six challengers. They include Christine (Tina) Michie, Rudy Sutherland Jr., Ferrel Bonner, Nadine B. Skinner, Monica Riley and Holland Poulsen.

For Position 3 trustee, incumbent Jim Rice will face three challengers, including Sam Popuri, Ashish Agrawal and Afshi Charania.

Sommer, president and CEO of Grand Dominion Homes, has lived on the area for 17 years. Lam is the youngest candidate vying for office on the board at 19 years old and is a college student in the occupational therapy assistant program at HCC Coleman College of Health Sciences. Dobrolecki is the chief marketing officer for the Evelyn Rubenstein Jewish Community Center of Houston. Drew is as an Enterprise Data Architect and Licensed Nurse who has called Fort Bend County her home for eight years.

Pam Sutherland, who has lived in Missouri City for 20 years, has been an entrepreneur, parent/student advocate and a stay at-home mom since 2003.

Agrawal, who’s lived in Texas for 22 years, works for one of the world’s largest multinational companies. Popuri, who’s been an IT professional for the past 25 years, has been a resident of Fort Bend County for the past nine years. Rice was elected in May of 2010 currently chairs the Board’s Audit Committee. Charania serves on the board of the Fort Bend Chamber of Commerce.

Rosenthal was last re-elected to the FBISD Board of Trustees in 2016 and has served for six years. Riley is a former FBISD parent educator who has had leadership roles on various PTOs and PTAs. Skinner currently serves as Treasurer for PACE- Fort Bend Parents for Academic Excellence. Poulsen is a former schoolteacher who currently works with school districts and individual campuses to support teachers.

Rudy Sutherland Jr. is a father and a small business owner. Michie is a 33-year-old math tutor who came to the United States from South Korea in 1985. Bonner is a Gulf War Army Veteran and former military intelligence analyst.

Polls close at 7 p.m. Results for FBISD trustees will be posted to Fort Bend County Votes.

This is a developing story. Check back here for updates.