Races close to being set for Dodge County elections

January 5, 2019

JUNEAU -- Several towns, villages and cities in Dodge County will hold elections for local offices April 2. If needed, primaries could precede this on Feb. 19.

The deadline for filing nomination papers for the election was Wednesday at 5 p.m.

Below is a list of municipalities in Dodge County that are in the Daily Times readership area in which elections are to be conducted and the candidates who met the nomination papers filing deadline.

For municipalities that use a caucus method for nomination instead of nomination papers those individuals are urged to contact their local clerks for information.

For those towns, villages and cities who did not respond the individuals who are running this year will be published as they become available.

Town of Ashippun

The positions up for election include James H. Meyer and Chris Enders for chairman. William S. Bremer and Tom Wasemiller for Supervisor No. 2. David J. Adkins and David Guckenberger for Supervisor No. 4. There are no candidates for the Ashippun Sanitary District vice president.

There will be no primary election.

Town of Lebanon

Incumbents whose positions are up for re-election include town board Chairman Lohny Frederick, town board Supervisor No. 1 Greg Fredrick, town Clerk Deborah Behl and town Treasurer Jon Schoenike. Town board Supervisor No. 2 will be vacated by LeRoy Tietz Dec. 31. Pam Conway was appointed to complete Tietz’s term.

The town of Lebanon does not use nomination papers. The town uses a caucus system for determining who will be on the ballot in April. The Lebanon Town Caucus will be held at 7:30 p.m. Jan. 17 at the Lebanon Town Hall.

Town of Lowell

The town of Lowell nominates its candidates by a caucus which is scheduled for 1 p.m. Jan. 19.

Village of Lowell

Incumbents whose positions are up for re-election and submitted nominated papers include village board President Jerome L. Straseske and Trustees Chester Caine and Ann Lischka.

Village of Iron Ridge

The village of Iron Ridge uses a caucus system. The results from the caucus will not be available until Jan. 15.

Village of Hustisford

Current village Trustee Michael Grant is running for the village president seat. The candidates running for the three trustee seats include Joshua Prescher (incumbent), Bob Knueppel (incumbent), David A. Vinz and Raymond Budnik.

The current president Bruce Nekich is not seeking re-election.

Village of Reeseville

Incumbents whose positions are up for re-election include village board President Brian Miller and Trustees James Bublitz and Lee Brasch. Current Trustee Margaret Schmidt is running against Miller for the village board president seat.

City of Horicon

There will be no mayoral race this year.

Aldermen in the 1st, 2nd and 3rd wards are up for re-election this year.

Incumbents Susan Hady and Donald Miller filed papers for the 1st District and 3rd Districts, respectively. Nathan Anfinson submitted non-candidacy papers for the 2nd District.

City of Juneau

There will be no mayoral race, but three aldermanic seats are up for election. They include Jason Buske (Ward 1), Cheryl Braun (Ward 2) and David Gratton (Ward 3).

Dodge County Circuit Court judge

No one filed papers to run against incumbent Dodge County Circuit Court Judge (Branch 3) Joseph G. Sciascia, whose term of office will expire on July 31.

Multijurisdictional judge seat available

Dodge County Clerk Karen Gibson has received a notification of noncandidacy from Multijurisdictional Judge James R. Wegner who is the municipal judge for the city of Horicon, village of Hustisford and village of Iron Ridge. Gibson said Thursday she received nomination papers from Horicon resident Patrick Bulman for the position.

Update hourly