Related topics

Sri Lanka wins toss, bowls in 5th ODI vs. New Zealand

January 22, 2015

DUNEDIN, New Zealand (AP) — Lahiru Thirimanne won his first toss as Sri Lanka captain and elected to bowl against New Zealand in the fifth one-day cricket international at University Oval on Friday.

Thirimanne made his debut as captain in the absence of Angelo Mathews, who has a calf injury. He said the greenish nature of the pitch made bowling the best option, and Sri Lanka hoped to restrict New Zealand, which leads the seven-match series 2-1.

Dinesh Chandimal joined the Sri Lanka batting lineup as Mathews’ replacement, and fast bowler Suranga Lakmal returned in place of Rangana Herath.

New Zealand made two changes, naming Nathan McCullum in place of Daniel Vettori, and Trent Boult for Adam Milne, who has a side strain.



New Zealand: Brendon McCullum (captain), Martin Guptill, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, Grant Elliott, Corey Anderson, Luke Ronchi, Nathan McCullum, Tim Southee, Mitchell McClenaghan, Trent Boult.

Sri Lanka: Dimuth Karunaratne, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Lahiru Thirimanne (captain), Dinesh Chandimal, Thisara Perera, Jeevan Mendis, Sachithra Senanayake, Nuwan Kulasekara, Suranga Lakmal.

Update hourly