New DeKalb County committee leaders will be selected Dec. 3

November 16, 2018

SYCAMORE – With a new DeKalb County board comes a meeting to choose new committee leaders after the Nov. 6 election.

Three representatives each from the county’s Democratic and Republican caucuses will decide which county board member will lead each committee during the county board’s organizational meeting Dec. 3.

DeKalb County Board Chairman Mark Pietrowski Jr., a Democrat who serves District 3, said new and re-elected county board officials also will select who will be the next chairman and vice chairman, currently Republican District 12 representative John Frieders. He said the county’s ad hoc committee also approved term limits for chairman and vice-chairman, where they can only serve three two-year terms over a 12-year period.

“If I was selected as chair, that would be my third term,” Pietrowski said.

All six of the county’s contested incumbents won during the midterm elections, including Republican Tim Hughes from District 2, Republican Tim Bagby from District 3, Republican Dianne Leifheit from District 8, Democrat Jim Luebke from District 9, Democrat Suzanne Willis from District 10 and Republican Dan Cribben from District 11.

Republican Larry West won in the District 1 race after Republican incumbent Kevin Bunge did not run for re-election. Democrat Linda Slabon will represent District 5 after Democratic incumbent Steve Reid retires.

Democrat Rukisha Crawford won the District 6 election, which comes after Democratic incumbent Bob Brown announced his retirement as well. Democrat Scott Campbell won the election for District 7 after Democratic incumbent Marjorie Askins did not run for re-election.

Update hourly