Voters reject Kalispell school levy request

May 8, 2019

The mood was likely somber after ballots were counted and levies defeated in school districts around the valley.

Polls closed at 8 p.m. Tuesday.

A general fund levy that would have generated 25.71 on homes with an assessed value of 1.2 million from the [high school] budget for the 2019-20 school year,” Flatau stated. “The board of trustees has a scheduled finance committee meeting this Friday morning and I’m sure will also begin to wrestle with this budget deficit. Please know we will work to make reductions with the least impact on our classrooms, but this will be a challenging task. Thanks to everyone who assisted in these efforts. It is appreciated. ”

The last high school general fund levy was passed in 2007.

Also on the ballot were contested trustee elections.

With 3,500 votes, Sue Corrigan was elected to represent the elementary district. Candidate Rebecca Linden received 1,709 votes.

April Snell was elected to a seat on the high school district representing Marion, Olney-Bissell, Pleasant Valley, Smith Valley and West Valley. Candidate Anna Marie Bailey received 784 votes.

Helena Flats School District’s 54 on homes with assessed values of 112,000 general fund levy was defeated by a vote of 171 to 97. A 43.90 for the general fund levy and 200,000.

A 53.78 on homes with assessed values of $200,000.

Following are preliminary results for trustee elections in school districts that did not have levy requests:

Bigfork School District voters re-elected incumbent Zack D. Anderson to the board with 748 votes. Aaron Parish will also join the board with 507 votes. Both seats are for three-year terms. Candidates Wendy Miller garnered 308 votes; Norah Morrison, 268 votes; Monarae Tuhy, 228 votes; and Dennis Kelleher, 162 votes.

Incumbent Larry Wilson was re-elected to the Columbia Falls School District board with 898 votes. Heather Mumby was also elected with 696 votes. Candidates David Shaffer received 519 votes and Bruce Crockett 451.

Voters in Fair-Mont-Egan School District re-elected incumbent Katie Freeman with 113 votes. Travis Tennison was also elected with 156 votes. Both terms are for three years. Candidates Lara Zimmerman received 111 votes and Linda C. Kaps, 72.

Incumbent Jerril M. Ren was re-elected to the Smith Valley School District board with 194 votes. Rand A. Norby will also join the board with 129 votes. Both seats are for three-year terms. Candidate Doni M. Bennett received 77 votes. A total of 247 ballots

Results from school elections in Whitefish and Evergreen were not available by presstime. Visit the Daily Inter Lake online for the latest results.

Reporter Hilary Matheson may be reached at 758-4431 or hmatheson@dailyinterlake.com.