NEW YORK (AP) _ Here is the list of Tony award nominees for Broadway's 1987-88 season. Winners will be announced June 5 in ceremonies televised nationally by CBS from the Minskoff Theater.

Play: ''A Walk in the Woods,'' Lee Blessing; ''Joe Turner's Come and Gone,'' August Wilson; ''M. Butterfly,'' David Henry Hwang; ''Speed-the-Plow ,'' David Mamet.

Musical: ''Into the Woods,'' ''The Phantom of the Opera,'' ''Romance/ Romance, '' ''Sarafina 3/8''

Revival: ''Anything Goes,'' ''A Streetcar Named Desire,'' ''Cabaret,'' ''Dreamgirls.''

Actor, Play: Derek Jacobi, ''Breaking the Code''; John Lithgow, ''M. Butterfly''; Robert Prosky, ''A Walk in the Woods''; Ron Silver, ''Speed-the- Plow.''

Actress, Play: Joan Allen, ''Burn This''; Blythe Danner, ''A Streetcar Named Desire''; Frances McDormand, ''A Streetcar Named Desire''; Glenda Jackson, ''Macbeth.''

Actor, Musical: Scott Bakula, ''Romance/Romance''; David Carroll, ''Chess''; Michael Crawford, ''The Phantom of the Opera''; Howard McGillin, ''Anything Goes.''

Actress, Musical: Alison Fraser, ''Romance/Romance''; Joanna Gleason, ''Into the Woods''; Judy Kuhn, ''Chess''; Patti LuPone, ''Anything Goes.''

Book, Musical: Lee Breuer, ''The Gospel at Colonus''; James Lapine, ''Into the Woods''; Richard Stilgoe and Andrew Lloyd Webber, ''The Phantom of the Opera;'' Barry Harman, ''Romance/Romance.''

Score, Musical: Stephen Sondheim, ''Into the Woods''; Andrew Lloyd Webber, Charles Hart and Richard Stilgoe, ''The Phantom of the Opera''; Keith Herrmann and Barry Harman, ''Romance/Romance''; Mbongeni Ngema and Hugh Masekela, ''Sarafina 3/8''

Director, Play: John Dexter, ''M. Butterfly''; Gregory Mosher, ''Speed-the- Pl ow''; Lloyd Richards, ''Joe Turner's Come and Gone''; Clifford Williams, ''Breaking the Code.''

Director, Musical: James Lapine, ''Into the Woods''; Mbongeni Ngema, ''Sarafina 3/8''; Harold Prince, ''The Phantom of the Opera''; Jerry Zaks, ''Anything Goes.''

Featured Actor, Play: Michael Gough, ''Breaking the Code''; Lou Liberatore, ''Burn This''; Delroy Lindo, ''Joe Turner's Come and Gone''; B.D. Wong, ''M. Butterfly.''

Featured Actress, Play: Kimberleigh Aarn, ''Joe Turner's Come and Gone''; L. Scott Caldwell, ''Joe Turner's Come and Gone''; Kate Nelligan, ''Serious Money''; Kimberly Scott, ''Joe Turner's Come and Gone.''

Featured Actor, Musical: Anthony Heald, ''Anything Goes''; Werner Klemperer, ''Cabaret''; Bill McCutcheon, ''Anything Goes''; Robert Westenberg, ''Into the Woods.''

Featured Actress, Musical: Judy Kaye, ''The Phantom of the Opera''; Leleti Khumalo, ''Sarafina 3/8''; Alyson Reed, ''Cabaret''; Regina Resnik, ''Cabaret.''

Scenic Design: Maria Bjornson, ''The Phantom of the Opera''; Eiko Ishioka, ''M. Butterfly''; Tony Straiges, ''Into the Woods''; Tony Walton, ''Anything Goes.''

Costume Design: Maria Bjornson, ''The Phantom of the Opera''; Ann Hould- Ward, ''Into the Woods''; Eiko Ishioka, ''M. Butterfly''; Tony Walton, ''Anything Goes.''

Lighting Design: Andrew Bridge, ''The Phantom of the Opera''; Paul Gallo, ''Anything Goes''; Richard Nelson, ''Into the Woods''; Andy Phillips, ''M. Butterfly.''

Choreography: Lar Lubovitch, ''Into the Woods''; Gillian Lynne, ''The Phantom of the Opera''; Ndaba Mhlongo, ''Sarafina 3/8''; Michael Smuin, ''Anything Goes.''

A special Tony award for continued excellence by a regional theater: South Coast Repertory Theater of Costa Mesa, Calif.

Another special Tony award will be given to the Brooklyn Academy of Music.