Related topics

Independent Stations Group Names New President

December 1, 1989

WASHINGTON (AP) _ James B. Hedlund has been named president of the Association of Independent Television Stations, replacing Preston Padden, who has resigned, the association said Thursday.

Padden, who announced earlier he was becoming senior vice president, affiliates, for the Fox Broadcasting Co., will remain with the association until the end of the year, INTV Chairman John A. Serrao said.

Hedlund, who joined the lobbying organization in 1983, most recently has been its vice president for government relations. He will assume his new duties immediately.

Hedlund, of Milwaukee, formerly was vice president for government relations at the National Cable Television Association, the cable industry’s representative in Washington.

He also has held positions at the White House Office of Management and Budget, the Department of Housing and Urban Development and the House Budget Committee.

Hedlund faces a full plate of issues as INTV president, including the organization’s campaign to stem the movement of sports to cable TV and efforts to work out an agreement with cable representatives on what over-the-air stations must be carried by cable systems and where the stations are positioned on the TV dial.

INTV represents more than 180 TV stations nationwide that are not affiliated with the ABC, CBS or NBC television networks.

Update hourly