Big Sandy OF Broch Holmes TSWA 2A player of the year

July 31, 2018

BRYAN, Texas (AP) — Dallardsville Big Sandy outfielder Broch Holmes is the player of the year on the Texas Sports Writers Association Class 2A all-state baseball team.

The junior who hit 15 home runs and drove in 64 runs to lead the Wildcats to a state championship. He batted .469 with 20 stolen bases.


Pitchers: Brandon Hendrix, Dallardsville Big Sandy, jr.; Jared Kelley, Refugio, soph.; Drew Shifflet, Woden, sr.

Relief pitcher: Zane Spinn, Holland, soph.

Catcher: (tie) Lance Albritton, Woden, sr. and Carson Cheaney, Muenster, sr.

First baseman: Randal Garza, Agua Dulce, jr.

Second baseman: Andre Tone, McCamey, sr.

Shortstop: Clay Stevens, Muenster, sr.

Third baseman: (tie) Brandon Britton, Post, sr. and Gabe Castillo, Riviera, sr.

Outfielders: Broch Holmes, Dallardsville Big Sandy, jr.; R.J. Galvan, Three Rivers, sr.; Andruw Mitchell, Cayuga, sr.

Designated hitter: Bryce Whiteley, DeLeon, sr.

Player of the year: Holmes, Dallardsville Big Sandy

Coach of the year: Jacob Hooker, Dallardsville Big Sandy


Pitchers: Stetson McGrew, Muenster, sr.; Stacey Bailey, Kerens, sr.; (tie) Logan Fisher, Thorndale, sr.; Chase Keeton, Valley Mills, jr.

Relief pitcher: Hunter Wolf, Windthorst, jr.

Catcher: Brandon Coronado, New Deal, sr.

First baseman: Chance Morse, Bells, sr.

Second baseman: (tie) Scott Guzman, Thorndale, jr.; Stephen Hinds, Bells, sr.

Shortstop: (tie) Tate Engel, Kerens, jr.; Joshua Cobb, Clarendon, sr.

Third baseman: Parker McGrew, Muenster, jr.

Outfielders: Hunter Townsend, Alto, sr.; Kagen Dangelmayr, Muenster, sr.; Preston Elam, Clarendon, jr.

Designated hitter: Wyatt Wharton, North Hopkins, jr.


Pitchers: Weston Clark, Harper, sr.; Hunter Hawthorne, Bells, sr.; (tie) Layton Reed, New Deal, jr.; Tyler Restine, Big Sandy, sr.

Relief pitcher: Trent Wert, Linden-Kildare, jr.

Catcher: Garrett Lilley, Dallardsville Big Sandy, jr.

First baseman: Kade Hunsaker, Clarendon, sr.

Second baseman: Carter Helmcamp, Weimar, sr.

Shortstop: Jeff Whitfield, New Deal, sr.

Third baseman: Bowden Hooser, Crawford, jr.

Outfielders: Matthew Conner, Bells, jr.; Jake Cockerham, Mason, jr. (tie) Calvin Martin, DeLeon, sr.; Reagan Holland, Santo, sr.

Designated hitter: Nathan Sullivan, Abernathy, jr.


This story has been corrected to replace 1A All-State selections with 2A.

Update hourly