Related topics


July 24, 2014

All Times EDT




Site: Indianapolis.

Schedule: Friday, practice (Fox Sports 1, 11:30 a.m.-1 p.m.); Saturday, practice (ESPN2, 9-11 a.m.), qualifying (ESPN, 2-3:30 p.m.); Sunday, race, 1 p.m. (ESPN, noon-4:30 p.m.)

Track: Indianapolis Motor Speedway (oval, 2.5 miles).

Race distance: 400 miles, 160 laps.

Last year: Indiana driver Ryan Newman raced to the last of his 17 Cup victories.

Last race: Brad Keselowski won at New Hampshire on July 13 to complete a Nationwide-Cup weekend sweep.

Fast facts: Race winners get first priority for the 16-driver Chase as long as they are in the top 30 in the standings and attempted to qualify for every race. Keselowski and Jimmie Johnson lead the series with three victories. Dale Earnhardt Jr., Carl Edwards, Kevin Harvick and Joey Logano each have two wins, and Aric Almirola, Jeff Gordon, Kyle Busch, Denny Hamlin and Kurt Busch also have won. Gordon leads the standings. ... Hendrick Motorsports teammates Johnson and Gordon share the track Cup record with four victories. ... Tony Stewart, from Indiana, won the 2005 and 2007 races. ... Juan Pablo Montoya, the 2000 Indianapolis 500 winner, is driving for owner Roger Penske in his second NASCAR start of the year. He won the IndyCar event at Pocono this month for his first victory in his return to open-wheel racing. ... Danica Patrick made seven starts in the Indy 500, finishing third in 2009.

Next race: GoBowling.com 400, Aug. 3, Pocono Raceway, Long Pond, Pennsylvania.

Online: http://www.nascar.com




Site: Indianapolis.

Schedule: Friday, practice (Fox Sports 1, 8:30-10 a.m., 10:30-11:30 a.m.); Saturday, qualifying (Fox Sports 1, noon-1:30 p.m.); race, 4:30 p.m. (ESPN, 4-7 p.m.).

Track: Indianapolis Motor Speedway (oval, 2.5 miles).

Race distance: 250 miles, 100 laps.

Last year: Kyle Busch raced to the eighth of his 12 2013 victories.

Last week: Chase Elliott won for the third time this year, holding off Trevor Bayne at Chicagoland Speedway to take the season points lead.

Fast facts: Busch has three victories in 14 starts this year to extend his series-record victory total to 66. ... Kevin Harvick, Matt Kenseth and Joey Logano are racing. ... Elliott is seven points ahead of JR Motorsports teammate Regan Smith and eight in front of Elliott Sadler. ... In 2012, Brad Keselowski won the first Nationwide race at the historic track.

Next race: U.S. Cellular 250, Aug. 2, Iowa Speedway, Newton, Iowa.

Online: http://www.nascar.com



Next race: Pocono Mountains 150, Aug. 2, Pocono Raceway, Long Pond, Pennsylvania.

Last race: Darrell Wallace Jr. won the Mudsummer Classic on Wednesday night on the dirt at Eldora Speedway for his second victory of the year and third overall.

Online: http://www.nascar.com




Site: Budapest, Hungary.

Schedule: Friday, practice (NBC Sports, noon-1:30 p.m.); Saturday, practice, qualifying (CNBC, 8-9:30 p.m., NBC Sports, noon-1:30 p.m.); Sunday, race, 8 a.m. (CNBC, 7:30-10:30 a.m., NBC Sports, 2-4:30 p.m.).

Track: Hungaroring (road course, 2.72 miles).

Race distance: 190.53 miles, 70 laps.

Last year: Mercedes’ Lewis Hamilton won the race for the second straight year to match Michael Schumacher’s track victory record of four.

Last week: Mercedes’ Nico Rosberg won the German Grand Prix to stretch his season lead to 14 points over teammate Hamilton. The first German winner at Hockenheim since Schumacher in 2006, Rosberg has four victories this season.

Fast facts: Hamilton leads the series with five victories in the first 10 races. ... Daniel Ricciardo is third in the standings, 84 points behind Rosberg. The Red Bull driver won the Canadian Grand Prix last month. ... Red Bull’s Sebastian Vettel is winless this year after winning 13 times last year en route to his fourth straight season title.

Next race: Belgian Grand Prix, Aug. 24, Spa-Francorchamps Circuit, Spa-Francorchamps, Belgium.

Online: http://www.formula1.com




Site: Sonoma, California.

Schedule: Friday, qualifying; Saturday, qualifying (ESPN2, 7-8 p.m.); Sunday, final eliminations (ESPN2, 9 p.m.-midnight).

Track: Sonoma Raceway.

Last year: Ron Capps won in Funny Car for his fourth Sonoma victory. Shawn Langdon won in Top Fuel, Vincent Nobile in Pro Stock, and Hector Arana Jr. in Pro Stock Motorcycle.

Last week: J.R. Todd won the Mile-High Nationals in Colorado for his first Top Fuel victory since 2008. Robert Hight won in Funny Car, Allen Johnson in Pro Stock, and Andrew Hines in Pro Stock Motorcycle.

Fast facts: Hight, a five-time winner this year, leads the Funny Car standings — 181 points ahead of teammate and owner John Force. The 65-year-old Force has won twice this year. ... Doug Kalitta has a 25-point lead over Antron Brown in Top Fuel. Brown leads the series with five victories, and Kalitta has one. ... Enders-Stevens tops the Pro Stock standings, and Hines leads in Pro Stock Motorcycle. They each have four victories this year.

Next event: NHRA Northwest Nationals, Aug. 1-3, Pacific Raceways, Kent, Washington.

Online: http://www.nhra.com



Next race: Honda Indy 200, Aug. 3, Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, Lexington, Ohio.

Last week: KVSH Racing’s Sebastien Bourdais and Ed Carpenter Racing’s Mike Conway won doubleheader races at Toronto.

Online: http://www.indycar.com



ARCA RACING SERIES: Scott Get Geared Up 200, Friday (Fox Sports 1, 9-11 p.m.), Lucas Oil Raceway, Clermont, Indiana. Online: http://www.arcaracing.com

TUDOR UNITED SPORTSCAR CHAMPIONSHIP: Brickyard Grand Prix, Friday (Fox Sports 1, 5:30-8:30 p.m.), Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Indianapolis. Online: http://www.imsa.com

WORLD OF OUTLAWS: Sprint Car: Saturday, Autodrome Drummond, Drummondville, Quebec; Sunday, Cornwall Motor Speedway, Cornwall, Ontario. Late Model: Thursday, Independence Motor Speedway, Independence, Iowa; Saturday, Fairbury American Legion Speedway, Fairbury, Illinois. Online: http://www.worldofoutlaws.com

U.S. AUTO RACING CLUB: Silver Crown: Rich Vogler Classic, Thursday, Lucas Oil Raceway, Clermont, Indiana. Online: http://www.usacracing.com

Update hourly