Deadline passes to file for spring elections

January 3, 2019

The slate of local elections is in place, which will include contested races for four seats on the Beaver Dam Common Council and three seats on the Beaver Dam Unified School District Board of Education.

Three council incumbents will face opposition, while two newcomers will square off for an open seat.

Incumbent council member Jon Abfall will face newcomer Douglas Garczynski for the Ward 3 seat, incumbent Mick Fischer and challenger Betsy Ramsdale are on the ballot in Ward 5 and incumbent Robert Ballweg and Jack Yuds are on the ballot in Ward 7.

Incumbent Lisa Davidson will not be running again in Ward 9. Mike Derr and Jaclyn Shelton will run against each other to succeed Davidson.

Incumbents running unopposed for another term are David Hansen in Ward 1, Kay Appenfeldt in Ward 11 and Kevin Burnett in Ward 13.

School board incumbents Chad Prieve, Bev Beal-Loeck and Jim Jansen have all filed papers to remain in their position. In addition, Tony Klatt and Bradley Friedl filed as candidates.

Horicon City Council: Incumbent Susan Hady will run unopposed in District 1 and incumbent Don Miller will run unopposed in District 3. Incumbent Nate Anfinson will not be a candidate for Ward 2, and no one else filed. Somebody could still stage a write-in candidacy.

Horicon School Board: Incumbents Tina Streblow and Amanda Remley are running for another term on the Horicon school board.

Fox Lake City Council: Incumbents John Mund (Ward 1), Robert Jenswold (Ward 2) and Peter Hartzheim (Ward 3) are all running unopposed.

Waupun City Council: Incumbents Jason Westphal (District 1), Ryan Mielke (District 3) and Bobbie Vossekuil (District 5) are all running unopposed.

Waupun School Board: Stephen Chené, who was appointed to the board, will run in his first election to represent the city of Waupun, facing off against Lori Van Buren. Incumbents Bill Bruins (representing the towns of Alto and Trenton) and Milan Vande Zande (towns of Burnett, Chester, Oakfield, Springvale and Waupun) are running unopposed.

Juneau City Council: Incumbents Jason Buske (Ward 1), Cheryl Braun (Ward 2) and David Gratton (Ward 3) are running unopposed.

Dodgeland School Board: Incumbents David Beal and Bruce Haan (representing the city of Juneau and the town of Oak Grove) and Serene Seufzer and Andrew Oemig (town and village of Lowell and the town of Beaver Dam) are running unopposed.

Mayville City Council: Incumbents Dale Toellner (Ward 1), Molly Henkel (Ward 3) and Rachel Forster (Ward 5) are running unopposed.

Mayville School Board: Incumbents Norbert Dornfeldt and Ron Andes will run alongside Tom Kempf for two seats on the board.

Update hourly