Related topics

Springboks unchanged for Ireland in Dublin

November 5, 2014

DUBLIN (AP) — South Africa will put out the same starting lineup which beat New Zealand a month ago against Ireland at Lansdowne Road on Saturday.

The only change in the team named on Wednesday is in the reserves, where injured prop Marcel van der Merwe is replaced by Coenie Oosthuizen.

“It’s only the fifth time in what will be the 34th test since I was appointed as Springbok coach that we’ve been able to select an unchanged starting lineup,” Heyneke Meyer said.

“In this day and age, not making changes to teams is pretty much unheard of, but this is a great position we’re in. However, we need to make it count against a very tough Irish side on Saturday.”


South Africa: Willie le Roux, Cornal Hendricks, Jan Serfontein, Jean de Villiers (captain), Bryan Habana, Handre Pollard, Francois Hougaard; Duane Vermeulen, Teboho ‘Oupa’ Mohoje, Marcell Coetzee, Victor Matfield, Eben Etzebeth, Jannie du Plessis, Bismarck du Plessis, Tendai Mtawarira. Reserves: Adriaan Strauss, Trevor Nyakane, Coenie Oosthuizen, Bakkies Botha, Schalk Burger, Cobus Reinach, Pat Lambie, JP Pietersen.

Update hourly