WVC Boys Soccer: Crestwood Leads Coaches All-stars

November 22, 2018

No Wyoming Valley Conference boys soccer team was more highly regarded by its coaches this season than Crestwood.

The league’s Division 1 winners and District 2 Class 3A champions led the way with five first-team selections and four more second-team picks on the recently announced WVC coaches all-star teams. No other school matched the Comets’ nine total all-stars.

All-stars were broken into first and second teams for both Divisions 1 and 2.

Crestwood could hardly be stopped this season, losing only once in the regular season (to Valley West, with six all-stars) before lifting its third District 2 championship trophy in the last four seasons. The Comets’ season ended with a 3-1 loss to Athens in the first round of the PIAA tournament.

Hubert Herrera, Sean Murphy, Payton Glynn, Mike Ceklosky and Max Gariano were the Comets’ first team all-stars. Herrera led the WVC with 35 goals in the regular season, and Gariano (21G) and Murphy (18G) added to their league-leading offense.

Other Division 1 teams with multiple all-star nods included District 2 runner-up Dallas (three), Valley West (three) — which tied for second in the division to Dallas — and sixth-place Coughlin (two).

In Division 2, District 2 Class 2A champion Wyoming Seminary collected three first team and second team spots apiece. Sem’s first-team all-stars were scoring leaders Reggie Grayek (11G-4A), Luke Johns (20G-5A) and Edge Miller (10G-17A).

The division’s third- and fourth-place teams, Lake-Lehman and upstart Wyoming Area, led the way with four players named to the first team. Meyers (three), GAR (two) and Holy Redeemer (two) also had multiple first-team recipients.

Here is a full list of the coaches all-stars:


Division 1 First Team

Berwick: Tim Maron

Coughlin: Jacob Cortez, Christian Kosik

Crestwood: Mike Ceklosky, Max Gariano, Payton Glynn, Hubert Herrera, Sean Murphy

Dallas: Ryan Fisher, Kyle Greenwood, Zach Holthaus, Beaudyn Lewis

Nanticoke Area: Adam Eckhart

Pittston Area: Kyle Mlodzienski

Tunkhannock: Eddie Melan

Valley West: Kevin Grodzki, Nate Naugle, Ryan Stevens


Second Team

Berwick: Zach Demko, Luis Garcia

Coughlin: Logan Davison, Chad Regan

Crestwood: Johnny Olejnik, Nick Ruggeri, Justin Sterling, Trey Zabroski

Dallas: John Betzko, Joey Nardone

Nanticoke Area: Garrett Dzugan

Pittston Area: Brandon Overman, Bryan Rowan

Valley West: Tyler Gilispie, Scott Nilson, Saquan Portee


Division 2 First Team

GAR: Rafael Amigon, Bryant Espinoza

Holy Redeemer: Lucas Barnak, Lance McGrane

Lake-Lehman: Mike Bulzoni, Max Paczewski, Justin Timonte, Nate Salus

Meyers: Tanner Nilon, Michael Krasnavage, Joel Vasquez

MMI Prep: Jimmy Kelly

Wyoming Area: Damien Bronsburg, Nick Belles, Luke Coolbaugh, Brett Kostik

Wyoming Seminary: Reggie Grayek, Luke Johns, Edge Miller


Second Team

GAR: Joel Garza, Jeison Isaula, Daniel Perez

Hanover Area: Tristan Davies, Hunter Ravert, Ashton Schiel

Holy Redeemer: Ethan Cegelka, Jimmy Dunleavy, Connor Kane

Lake-Lehman: Abe Dabsheh, Gabe Mitchell

Meyers: Ryan Casey, David Kasper, Anthony Macko, Cole Walker

MMI Prep: Ian Dewar, Alex Sessock, Grant Warren

Wyoming Area: Gavin Lahart, Adam Wisnewski

Wyoming Seminary: Ryan Anderson, Jared Weisenberger, Will Ziegler

Update hourly