Voters Head To The Polls Today In Special Election For 114th District

March 12, 2019

Voters in the 114th state House district will decide today who serves the remainder of late state Rep. Sid Michaels Kavulich’s two year term. The special election pits Waverly Twp. Democrat Bridget Malloy Kosierowski, 46, a registered nurse, against Old Forge Republican Frank Scavo, 56, a real estate investor and Old Forge school director. Scavo served as president of the school board until Thursday, when the board voted 5-3 to remove him from the leadership position in light of anti-Muslim posts he made on Facebook. Scavo has apologized for the posts. Kosierowski has identified expanding health care coverage as a top priority and vowed to preserve the state’s children’s health insurance program and protections that prevent those with pre-existing conditions from being charged higher insurance premiums. She also endorsed closing a loophole that allows multi-state companies to shift revenues in Pennsylvania to states with lower incomes taxes, imposing a natural gas extraction tax and focusing tax cuts on people’s primary homes as steps to reduce residents’ property tax burden. Scavo’s number one priority remains providing property tax relief. A longtime advocate of school property tax elimination, Scavo still favors doing so but believes tax relief for senior citizen homeowners should come first. Any new natural gas extraction tax revenues should go toward cutting senior citizens’ property taxes, Scavo said, noting he’d also push for an abortion ban in situations where a fetus is viable outside the womb. Today’s winner will serve in Harrisburg until Nov. 30, 2020, when Kavulich’s term ends. First elected in 2010, Kavulich, a Taylor Democrat, died in October of complications from heart-valve replacement surgery but remained on the ballot and won re-election in November. The salary for state legislators this year is $88,610.42. The 114th state House District includes the city of Carbondale, Waverly, Fell, Glenburn, Greenfield, Newton, North Abington, Ransom, Carbondale and Scott townships and Clarks Summit, Dickson City, Jermyn, Mayfield, Moosic, Old Forge, Taylor and Vandling boroughs. Polls open for voters in those municipalities at 7 a.m. and close at 8 p.m. Voters who have any issues or who want to report questionable practices should call the Lackawanna County Department of Elections at 570-963-6737. For a list of polling places, visit lackawannacounty.org, scroll over the “our administration” tab at the top of the page, click “Administrative Services” and then click “Elections.” Contact the writer: jhorvath@timesshamrock.com 570-348-9141; @jhorvathTT