Siebel Scholars Foundation Announces Class of 2019

September 13, 2018

REDWOOD CITY, Calif.--(BUSINESS WIRE)--Sep 13, 2018--The today announced the recipients of the 2019 Siebel Scholars award. Now in its 18 th year, the Siebel Scholars program annually recognizes nearly 100 exceptional students from the world’s leading graduate schools of business, computer science, energy science and bioengineering.

The 96 distinguished students of the Class of 2019 join past Siebel Scholars classes to form an unmatched professional and personal network of more than 1,300 scholars, researchers, and entrepreneurs. Through the program, this formidable group brings together diverse perspectives from business, science, and engineering to influence the technologies, policies, and economic and social decisions that shape the future.

“Every year, the Siebel Scholars continue to astound me with their commitment to academics, research and influencing our collective future. This year’s class is exceptional, and once again represents the best and brightest from around the world,” said Thomas M. Siebel, Chairman of the Siebel Scholars Foundation. “It is my great pleasure to welcome these men and women into this ever-growing, lifelong community, and I personally look forward to seeing their impact and contributions unfold.”

Established in 2000 by the Thomas and Stacey Siebel Foundation, the Siebel Scholars program awards grants to 16 universities in the United States, China, France, Italy and Japan. Following a competitive review process by the deans of their respective schools on the basis of outstanding academic achievement and demonstrated leadership, the top graduate students from 27 partner programs are selected each year as Siebel Scholars and receive a $35,000 award for their final year of studies. On average, Siebel Scholars rank in the top five percent of their class, many within the top one percent.

This year’s honorees are:

Graduate Schools of Computer Science

Carnegie Mellon University, School of Computer Science: Alankar Jain, Kijung Shin, Tanya Marwah, Xaioyue Cui, Zhilin Yang

Harvard John A. Paulson School of Engineering and Applied Sciences: Emma Alexander, Nam Wook Kim, Robert Bowden, Bradley McDaniel, Jarosław Błasiok

Massachusetts Institute of Technology, School of Engineering: Andrew Mullen, Logan Engstrom, Nichole Clarke, James Mawdsley, Alireza Fallah

Princeton University, School of Engineering and Applied Science: Cyril Zhang, Yinda Zhang, Mina Tahmasbi Arashloo, Ross Teixeira, Brian Bullins

Stanford University, School of Engineering: Zoe Bohn, Paul Crews, Michelle Lam, David Tagliamonti, Lucy Wang

Tsinghua University, School of Information Science and Technology: Yupei Wu, Yihui Ma, Fan Zhang, Xiuxing Li, Yanzhuo Ding

University of California, Berkeley, College of Engineering: David Wang, Samantha Wathugala

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, College of Engineering: Medhini Gulganjalli Narasimhan, Ricardo Paccagnella, Anusri Pampari, Zexuan Zhong, Abhinav Kohar

University of Chicago, School of Computer Science: Adam Holmes, Alena Stern, Emma Nechamkin, Haopeng Liu, Zihan Tan

Graduate Schools of Energy Science

Carnegie Mellon University, School of Computer Science: Kelly Good

École Polytechnique, Graduate School: Chloé Dindault

Massachusetts Institute of Technology, School of Engineering: Ian Schneider

Politecnico di Torino, Doctoral School: Andrea Bersano

Stanford University, School of Earth, Energy & Environmental Sciences: Usua Amanam

Tsinghua University, Department of Electrical Engineering: Yi Wang

University of California, Berkeley, College of Engineering: Wojciech Osowiecki

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, College of Engineering: Hanchen Xu

The University of Tokyo, School of Engineering: An He

Graduate Schools of Bioengineering

Johns Hopkins University, Whiting School of Engineering and School of Medicine: Farshid Alambeigi, Ehsan Azimi, Mohammadjavad Fotouhighazvini, John Hickey, Luke Osborn

Massachusetts Institute of Technology, School of Engineering: Breanna DiAndreth, Claire Duvallet, Linyi Gao, Manu Kumar, Asmamaw Wassie

Stanford University, School of Engineering and School of Medicine: Jung “Honesty” Kim, Aaron Mayer, Farah Memon, Jake Sganga, Stephanie Tzouanas Schmidt

University of California, Berkeley, College of Engineering: Andrew Bremer, Marc Steven Chooljian, Phillip Kang, Stacey Lee, Nicole Anne Repina

University of California, San Diego, Institute of Engineering in Medicine and Jacobs School of Engineering: Ashley Kroll, Colton Lloyd, Rachel Marty, Kimberly McCabe, Alexander Williams

Graduate Schools of Business

Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Sloan School of Management: Daniel Barnes, Ryan Bradley, Yancan “Lydia” Li, Gregory O’Sullivan, Alyssa Murray

Northwestern University, Kellogg School of Management: Jonathan Bateman, Oscar Dang, Lekha Ragavendran, Daniel Kish, John Bugas

Stanford University, Graduate School of Business: Geoffrey Calder, John Tyler Ettinger, Tucker Kocher, Valerie Shen, Jennifer Eugenia Villa

University of Chicago Booth School of Business: Alexander Daifotis, Siddhant Dube, Trisha Mantri, Kallan Parchman, Danny Zhang

To date, the over 1,300 Siebel Scholars have driven innovations in over a dozen industries, launched more than 1,100 products, authored more than 370 patents, published nearly 40 books and more than 2,650 articles or book chapters, and managed more than $2.7 trillion in assets. As leaders of some of today’s most preeminent start-ups, nonprofits and research institutions, Siebel Scholars have served on more than 340 boards, established more than 50 philanthropic initiatives, and founded more than 150 companies – of which more than 56 have successfully gone public or were sold to enterprises including Google, Intuit, Match.com and Dropbox.

For more information about the Siebel Scholars program, please visit www.SiebelScholars.com.

About Siebel Scholars

The Siebel Scholars program was founded in 2000 by the Siebel Foundation to recognize the most talented students at the world’s leading graduate schools of business, computer science, bioengineering, and energy science. These include: Carnegie Mellon University; École Polytechnique; Harvard University; Johns Hopkins University; Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Northwestern University; Politecnico di Torino; Princeton University; Stanford University; Tsinghua University; University of California, Berkeley; University of California, San Diego; University of Chicago; University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; University of Pennsylvania; and University of Tokyo. Today, our active community of over 1,300 leaders serves as advisors to the Siebel Foundation and works collaboratively to find solutions to society’s most pressing problems.

About the Siebel Foundation

The Thomas and Stacey Siebel Foundation, a nonprofit, public benefit corporation, was established as a private foundation in 1996. Its mission is to foster programs and organizations that improve the quality of life, environment, and education of its community members. The Siebel Foundation funds projects to support the homeless and underprivileged, education and research, public health, and alternative energy solutions.

View source version on businesswire.com:https://www.businesswire.com/news/home/20180913005122/en/

CONTACT: Siebel Scholars Foundation

Jennifer Stern, 650-299-5255




SOURCE: Siebel Foundation

Copyright Business Wire 2018.

PUB: 09/13/2018 07:20 PM/DISC: 09/13/2018 07:20 PM


Update hourly